Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Tuesday, September 24

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Tuesday:

- - - -

SAILING

America's Cup

Powerful Oracle moves a step closer to keeping America's Cup

SAN FRANCISCO - Oracle Team USA moved a step closer to keeping the America's Cup by winning the day's only race to prevent Team New Zealand from clinching the trophy. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ (UPDATE 1, PIX), moved, By Noel Randewich, 500 words)

- - - -

ATHLETICS

Ben Johnson 25-year anniversary package

We look back at Ben Johnson's downfall at the Seoul Olympics in 1988 with the second of a two-part multi-media package:

- - - -

NFL

Brilliant Manning inspires Broncos in 37-21 rout

Peyton Manning and the high-powered Denver Broncos steamrolled another opponent in their 37-21 rout of the AFC West's Oakland Raiders on Monday. (NFL-BRONCOS/UPDATE 1, moved, 300 words)

- - -

BASEBALL

Pirates earn first playoff appearance in 21 years

The Pittsburgh Pirates earned their first playoff appearance in 21 years after a victory and a bit of a wait.(BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 750 words)

- - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Malaysian Open, Kuala Lumpur (to 29)

Thailand Open, Bangkok (to 29)

WTA: Pan Pacific Open, Tokyo (to 28)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GOLF

Ryder Cup

Europe captain Paul McGinley and United States skipper Tom Watson host a joint news conference at Gleneagles, Scotland to mark the one-year countdown to the 2014 Ryder Cup. (GOLF-RYDER/, expect by 1130 GMT/7:30 AM ET, 500 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

La Liga

Barca host Sociedad, Atletico play at home to Osasuna

MADRID - Champions Barcelona and second-placed Atletico Madrid seek to maintain their winning starts to the season with games at home to Real Sociedad and Osasuna respectively. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect first take by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

German Cup

BERLIN, Sept 23 (Reuters) - 2012 German Cup winners Borussia Dortmund face second tier 1860 Munich in the second round as they look to bounce back from two games without a win while Bayer Leverkusen also face a lower-ranked team in Arminia Bielefeld. (SOCCER-GERMANY/CUP (PIX), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

English League Cup

LONDON - England's top clubs get going in the League Cup third round with Manchester City looking to avenge last season's shock FA Cup final defeat by Wigan Athletic. Chelsea are away at League One Swindon while Aston Villa host Tottenham Hotspur in one of three all Premier League clashes. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/CUP, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words) (Duty editor: Amlan Chakraborty; Asia Sports Desk; +91 11 4178 1022)

View Comments