Breaking News from Woj:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday, Dec 11

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Champions League Group Stage (1945 unless stated)

Group B

Galatasaray v Juventus (1300, rearranged)

- -

Group E

Schalke 04 v Basel

Chelsea v Steaua Bucharest

- -

Group F

Napoli v Arsenal

Olympique Marseille v Borussia Dortmund

- -

Group G

Atletico Madrid v FC Porto

Austria Vienna v Zenit Petersburg

- -

Group H

AC Milan v Ajax Amsterdam

Barcelona v Celtic

- -

Final qualifying places in Champions League last 16 on offer

LONDON - The final qualifying spots in the knockout phase are up for grabs with some of Europe's big guns, including AC Milan and Arsenal, still to confirm their places in the round of 16 ahead of Monday's draw. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ (PIX), expect from 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Justin Palmer, 500 words)

- -

Porto need a win at group winners Atletico to advance

MADRID - Porto must beat group winners Atletico Madrid and hope Austria Vienna avoid defeat at home to Zenit St Petersburg if they are to make it through to the last 16. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ATLETICO (PIX, TV), expect by 2130 GMT/4.30 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Barca looking to secure first place at home to Celtic

BARCELONA - Barcelona need to avoid defeat at home to eliminated Celtic if they are to secure top spot in the group ahead of AC Milan, who host Ajax Amsterdam. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/BARCELONA (PIX, TV), expect by 2130 GMT/4.30 PM ET, by Tim Hanlon, 500 words)

- -

Club World Cup, Morocco (to 21)

Morocco gets small chance to shine on world stage

After four failed bids to host the World Cup, Morocco finally gets to stage a world soccer championship over the next 10 days although this one is little more than a consolation prize. (SOCCER-CLUB/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Brian Homewood, 600 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

New Zealand v West Indies, second test (to 15)

New Zealand resume on 307-6 against West indies

WELLINGTON - New Zealand resume on 307 for six on the second day of the second test against West Indies after Ross Taylor scored his 10th test century and surpassed 4,000 career runs to anchor at the close on Tuesday. (CRICKET-WINDIES/, moved, by Greg Stutchbury, 500 words)

- -

The Ashes, third test, Perth (13-17)

Australia one win away from winning back Ashes

Already 2-0 up in the series and with Mitchell Johnson running riot, Australia could hardly be more confident as they look to rout a dispirited England in the third Ashes test this week recapture the coveted urn. (CRICKET-ASHES/PREVIEW, moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 700 words)

- -

South Africa v India, 3rd ODI, Pretoria

South Africa to tinker with winning formula

South Africa could make changes after two comprehensive wins over world champions India as they complete the three match one-day series at Centurion. (CRICKET-INDIA/, expect by 2000 GMT /3 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

GOLF

European Tour: Nelson Mandela Championship, Durban (to Dec 14)

Early start as Mandela tournament dates shifted

The Nelson Mandela Championship at the Mount Edgecombe Country Club has been moved ahead one day to avoid the final round coinciding with Nelson Mandela's funeral on Sunday. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 200 words)

- - - -

NBA

Rivers back in Boston to face Celtics

Doc Rivers makes his first visit to Boston since leaving the Celtics to become head coach of the Los Angeles Clippers in one of the nine games on the schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

- - - -

NHL

Ducks out to stretch winning streak

The Pacific Division leading Anaheim Ducks, winners of three in a row and still undefeated at home in regulation play, are host to the Minnesota Wild in one of three games on the NHL schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0101 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - - (London Duty Editor: Ken Ferris)

View Comments (0)