Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday, Aug 26

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Champions League playoff round, second legs (1845 unless stated)

Zenit St Petersburg v Standard Liege (1700)

Porto v Olympique Lyonnais

Celtic v Maribor

APOEL v AaB Aalborg

BATE Borisov v Slovan Bratislava

Celtic look for Champions League progress

Celtic will look to take advantage of their Champions League reprieve when their host Maribor in the second leg of their playoff, having drawn the first match 1-1. Competition regulars Zenit St Petersburg and Porto take 1-0 leads into their home matches against Standard Liege and Lille respectively. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/(PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/1800 ET, by Brian Homewood, 500 words)

- -

Capital One Cup, second round (to 27)

Copy on merit

- -

Premier League

Struggling Manchester United seek boost from record transfer

LONDON - Manchester United are set to smash the British transfer record when they sign Argentina winger Angel Di Maria from Real Madrid on Tuesday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/UNITED-DIMARIA), expect after deal announced, 400 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Hambantota, second ODI

Pakistan a victory away from winning series

Pakistan, after losing the test series 2-0, need a victory to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series and salvage pride. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN/, expect by 1630 GMT/12.30 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain (to Sept 14)

Matthews has overall lead heading into fourth stage

Surprise leader Australian Michael Matthews will be aiming to retain the red jersey following the 172.6 km fourth stage from Mairena del Alcor to Cordoba. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

U.S. Open (to 8)

Federer and Serena spice up Day Two at U.S. Open

NEW YORK - Twice defending champion Serena Williams, the top seed, and men's second seed Roger Federer, each a winner of 17 grand slam singles titles, headline Day Two of the U.S. Open tennis championships at Flushing Meadows. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (TV, PIX), expect first lead 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine and Steve Keating, 600 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Reds ace Cueto seeks MLB-leading 16th win

Cincinnati Reds pitcher Johnny Cueto seeks his Major League Baseball-leading 1th win of the season when he takes the mound versus the visiting Chicago Cubs in one of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(London duty editor: Ed Osmond)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (0)