Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, September 26

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -

SAILING

America's Cup

Oracle Team USA complete remarkable comeback

SAN FRANCISCO - Oracle Team USA prevailed in a dramatic winner-take-all showdown with Emirates Team New Zealand on Wednesday to win the 34th America's Cup, completing a stirring comeback that helped make the once-troubled event among the most exciting in sailing history. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ moved, by Jonathan Weber, 500 words)

- -

WELLINGTON - New Zealand mourned a nail-biting loss in the America's Cup to holders Oracle team USA after Jimmy Spithill's vastly improved boat sealed victory in the winner-takes-all deciding race. (SAILING-AMERICASCUP/ZEALAND, moved, 450 words)

- - - -

AUSTRALIAN RULES FOOTBALL

AFL's scandal-hit year closes with Hawthorn-Fremantle clash

The Australian Football League (AFL) will look to put a year of controversy and a festering doping scandal behind it when the Hawthorn Hawks meet the Fremantle Dockers in the championship-deciding Grand Final in Melbourne on Saturday. (AUSTRALIAN RULES/FINAL (PREVIEW), moving at 0800 GMT / 4 AM ET, by Simon Anderson, 700 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

La Liga

Villarreal host Espanyol, Bilbao play at home to Betis

MADRID - Promoted Villarreal host Espanyol in a clash of fourth against fifth, while sixth-placed Athletic Bilbao are at home to Real Betis. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, pix, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Barca chase perfect seven wins before Real host Atletico

MADRID - Champions Barcelona can make it seven wins from their opening seven matches at promoted Almeria on Saturday, before third-placed Real look to deny city rivals Atletico their seventh victory in the Madrid derby. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW) expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Johnstone a likely trump card for Internationals

LOS ANGELES - He will not hit a shot at next week's Presidents Cup in Dublin, Ohio, but the unpredictable and always funny Tony Johnstone could prove to be a trump card as an assistant in the locker room for Internationals captain Nick Price as the team strive to improve a dismal record of one win against the United States in nine editions. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/JOHNSTONE, moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 700 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Window of opportunity closing on playoff hopefuls

A gruelling, 162-game season spread across six months enters its final five days with a handful of teams still battling to secure one of the four wild-card playoff berths. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Malaysian Open, Kuala Lumpur (to 29)

Thailand Open, Bangkok (to 29)

WTA: Pan Pacific Open, Tokyo (to 28)

Copy on merit

- - - -

CYCLING

World cycling championships

French riders back in the mix

FLORENCE, Italy - After spending over a decade in the shadow, French riders are finally back in the mix, thanks to a generation of talented bike racers (CYCLING-WORLD/FRENCH, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 700 words)

- -

McQuaid, Cookson gear up for UCI vote

FLORENCE, Italy - Incumbent Pat McQuaid and challenger Brian Cookson have been trading blows in the UCI presidential campaign, the first since the Lance Armstrong scandal (CYCLING-UCI/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 600 words) (Asia duty editor: Peter Rutherford)

View Comments (0)