NFL on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, September 12


Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -


Tiger launches bid for sixth victory of season in Illinois

LAKE FOREST, Illinois - World number one Tiger Woods launches his bid for a sixth PGA Tour victory of the season in Thursday's opening round at Conway Farms Golf Club, venue for the third of the four lucrative FedExCup playoff events. Northern Irish world number four Rory McIlroy defends the title he won by two shots last year. (GOLF-PGA/, expect first story by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 400 words)

- - - -


Manning Bowl III gets spotlight

New York will get a taste of Super Bowl-like hype this week as Peyton Manning leads the Denver Broncos into MetLife Stadium to face younger brother Eli and the Giants in a marquee family feud dubbed Manning Bowl III. (NFL/ (PREVIEW), moved, 500 words)

- - - -


Wilsin wins 16th game as Angels top Blue Jays

C.J. Wilson matched a career high by earning his 16th game of the season, helping the Los Angeles Angels squeak past the Toronto Blue Jays. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 500 words)

- - - -


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -


America's Cup, San Francisco (to 22)

- -


WTA: Tashkent Open, Uzbekistan (to 14)

Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada (to 15)

ATP: Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada (to 15)

Results only

- - - -


Premier League

Ozil poised for Arsenal debut

LONDON - Arsenal fans waited a long time for a big summer signing and when the club smashed their transfer record on Mesut Ozil on deadline day the international break meant another delay before they could feast their eyes on him in club colours. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Bale could debut at Villarreal, Barca host Sevilla

MADRID - Real Madrid's record signing Gareth Bale could make his debut at Villarreal in Saturday's late game, after champions Barcelona host Sevilla. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW) expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- - - -


Rugby Championship (round four)

New Zealand v South Africa, Auckland

All Blacks juggle objectives ahead of Springboks clash

WELLINGTON - The double-edged sword of having to prepare for a World Cup defence and still win every game in between has never been more evident for New Zealand coach Steve Hansen than this weekend when his side face South Africa. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ZEALAND (PREVIEW), moved, by Greg Stutchbury, 650 words)

- -

Australia v Argentina, Perth

Wallabies seek end to misery with win over Pumas

MELBOURNE - The Wallabies will hope to prevent a wretched run of form turning into a full-blown crisis when they take on Argentina in Perth with out-of-sorts scrumhalf Will Genia demoted to the bench and backrower Ben Mowen leading the team in just his seventh test (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Ian Ransom, 600 words)

- - - -


Tour of Spain

Nibali leads into Stage 18

PENA CARBAGA, Spain - Italy's Vincenzo Nibali is the overall leader going into Stage 18, 186.5-kilometre ride starting in Burgos and ending with a tough summit finish. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/1:15 PM ET, by Alasdair Fotheringham, 350 words)

- - - -


Zimbabwe v Pakistan, second test

Pakistan resume on 163-3 after Zimbabwe scored 294

HARARE - Pakistan, 1-0 up in the series, resume on 163-3 in reply to Zimbabwe's 294 on the third day at the Harare Sports Club with Younus Khan on 52 not out. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN/, expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -


Mayweather puts unbeaten record on the line against Alvarez

Five-division world champion Floyd Mayweather Jr. puts his unbeaten record on the line when he challenges Mexican Saul "Canelo" Alvarez for the WBC and WBA super welterweight titles at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday. We preview the fight. (BOXING/MAYWEATHER (PREVIEW), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words) (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $15K Tournament [$1.5K to 1st] 2101/3409 $5 $15000 Today 8:30 PM Enter
NFL $750K Baller 21/85227 $10 $750000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $6K Tournament [$600 to 1st] 4413/6818 $1 $6000 Today 8:30 PM Enter
View Comments (0)