Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, March 16

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday: SOCCER Premier League Liverpool ready to rise to the occasion again LONDON - If the Premier League contained only the current top six then Liverpool, not Chelsea, would be heading for the title. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 400 words) We will have all the latest news ahead of this weekend's Premier League fixtures including Manchester City against Liverpool and Middlesbrough v Manchester United. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout) Europa League, last 16 second legs Roma seek to overturn Lyon lead ZURICH - AS Roma, trailing 4-2 from the first leg, host Olympique Lyon while Manchester United, with a 1-1 draw in the bag from their trip to Russia, meet Rostov in round-of-16 second leg ties. (SOCCER-EUROPA/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words) La Liga Leaky Real need to reverse trend of conceding first BARCELONA - Real Madrid have returned to the top of La Liga despite going behind in four of their last five league games and will need to reverse that trend when they visit Athletic Bilbao. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1100 GMT/7am ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words) Confederation of African Football Congress ADDIS ABABA - CAF holds its annual congress but this year there is the added drama of the presidential election, where long-standing incumbent Issa Hayatou goes up against Ahmad of Madagascar, plus elections for places on the​ FIFA Council. SOCCER-AFRICA/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words) RUGBY UNION Six Nations Champions England to name team for Ireland game LONDON - England will name their team for Saturday's final Six Nations match against Ireland in Dublin. Victory would give Eddie Jones's team a second grand slam in a row and a record 19th consecutive victory. (RUGBY UNION-NATIONS/ENGLAND, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, 400 words) Ireland and Scotland make their team announcement for the last of their matches in this year’s Six Nations. (RUGBY UNION-NATIONS/, from by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, 300 words) MOTOR RACING Formula One season preview package We moved the second four items of a three-part preview package for the Formula One season, which starts in Australia on March 26, at 0200 GMT/10PM ET. The third part will move at the same time on Friday. Same old problems for new-look McLaren LONDON - Fernando Alonso did not spare Honda's blushes in summing up McLaren's testing woes: "We have only one problem, and that is the power unit. There is no reliability and there is no power." Once again, the former champions are starting the season with an air of crisis around them. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/MCLAREN (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 540 words) Verstappen to push Ricciardo to the max LONDON - It takes some effort to wipe the smile off Daniel Ricciardo's face but Red Bull team mate Max Verstappen will be hoping the breezy Australian has less to grin about this season. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/REDBULL (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 460 words) Ferrari's Italian stallion has a spring in its step LONDON - The Italian stallion has a spring in its step as Ferrari, Formula One's oldest and most successful team, start a new season with fresh hope of returning to the top in the carmaker's 70th anniversary year. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/FERRARI (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 500 words) Bottas steps calmly into the Mercedes hot-seat LONDON - Valtteri Bottas is learning fast but Lewis Hamilton's new Mercedes team mate will only really find out what he is up against when the season starts in Australia next week. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/MERCEDES, (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 560 words) CRICKET India v Australia, third test (to 20) India, Australia renew rivalry after Bangalore row RANCHI - Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bat in the third test against India on Thursday as focus returned to cricket after controversy overshadowed their previous match at Bengaluru. (CRICKET-INDIA/(PIX), moved with updates to follow, by Amlan Chakraborty, 400 words) New Zealand v South Africa, second test (to 20) WELLINGTON - Tim Southee and Colin de Grandhomme grabbed a wicket each to reduce South Africa to 24 for two in response to New Zealand's 268 at the close of the first day's play of the second test at the Basin Reserve on Thursday. (CRICKET-NEWZEALAND/, moved, 400 words) Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 2nd test (to 19) Chandimal eyes ton against Bangladesh COLOMBO - Dinesh Chandimal needs 14 runs to complete his eighth test century when Sri Lanka resume day two on 238-7 at the P Sara Oval. (CRICKET-SRI LANKA/, expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, 200 words) GOLF Arnold Palmer Invitational Champion Jason Day will defend his title at this year's tournament at Bay Hill in a field that includes Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsutyama and U.S. Masters champion Danny Willett. GOLF-PALMER/ (TV), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words) TENNIS ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 19) Kyrgios beats Djokovic, sets up Federer quarter-fial Nick Kyrgios ended Novak Djokovic’s 19-match winning run at Indian Wells by beating the Serb 6-4 7-6(3) to reach the BNP Paribas Open quarter-finals, while Roger Federer also advanced with a straight sets win over Rafa Nadal. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN, moved with update to follow, 400 words) Muguruza, Pliskova battle for semi-finals Reigning French Open champion Garbine Muguruza of Spain plays world number three Karolina Pliskova of the Czech Republic for a berth in the semi-finals of the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells, California. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 400 words) NBA Celtics continue mastery of T’Wolves The Boston Celtics continued their mastery of the Timberwolves, overcoming a 10-point first-half deficit and cruising to a 117-104 victory over Minnesota. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words) NHL Bruins extend winning streak, beat Flames The Boston Bruins extended their winning streak to four games in a row with a 5-2 victory in Calgary, while making sure the Flames didn't set a franchise record for consecutive wins. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)