Winners and losers:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, June 26


Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -


WORLD CUP (until July 13)

Suarez banned for nine matches

RIO DE JANEIRO - Uruguay striker Luis Suarez was banned for nine matches by FIFA on Thursday after being found guilty of biting Italian defender Giorgio Chiellini. (SOCCER-WORLD/SUAREZ, moved with updates to follow, by Mike Collett, 500 words)

- -


Portugal v Ghana, Brasilia (1600)

Portugal hopes hanging by a thread before Ghana clash

BRASILIA - Portugal and World Player of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo need to win big against Ghana and hope Group G rivals Germany and the United States do not draw in the other game to have any hope of progressing to the last 16. (SOCCER-WORLD/M46-POR-GHA (PIX, TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Patrick Johnston, Brian Homewood and Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

U.S. v Germany, Recife (1600)

U.S. and Germany meet to decide Group G winner

RECIFE, Brazil - The United States take on Germany in a battle for supremacy in Group G with a draw or victory for Germany enough to see them top the section while the Americans can guarantee a last 16 place with a draw. (SOCCER-WORLD/M45-USA-GER (PIX), expect from 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Toby Davis and Philip O'Connor, 600 words)

- -


Algeria v Russia, Curitiba (2000)

Algeria aim for second round place, Russia must win

CURITIBA, Brazil - Algeria aim to make the second round for the first time while opponents Russia must win to have any hope of progressing. (SOCCER-WORLD/M48-ALG-RUS, expect from 2150 GMT/5.50 PM ET (PIX), by Alan Baldwin and Keith Weir, 500 words)

- -

South Korea v Belgium, Sao Paulo (2000)

Belgium seek point to secure Group H top spot

SAO PAULO - Belgium need at least a point to clinch first place when they meet South Korea in their Group H clash and ensure they avoid a possible clash with Germany in the last 16. (SOCCER-WORLD/M47-KOR-BEL, expect by 2230 GMT/6.30 PM ET, by Mike Collett-White, 500 words)

- -

We will also be running a separate World Cup Schedule at various times throughout the day for the duration of the tournament, offering previews, spot news, reports and analysis from our team in Brazil. (SPORTS-NEWS-SCHEDULE-UNPLANNED)

- - - -


WIMBLEDON (to July 5)

Wimbledon awaits Nadal-Rosol rematch

LONDON - Rafa Nadal will face his 2012 Wimbledon nemesis, Lukas Rosol, knowing he will have to up his game to avoid another second-round exit at the hands of the Czech world number 52. Roger Federer, Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova will also be in action. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/ (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Martyn Herman, Pritha Sarkar, Clare Lovell and Sam Holden, 800 words)

- - - -


PGA Tour: Quicken Loans National (to 29)

Woods set to test his back at Congressional

Tiger Woods will make his first competitive start since having surgery to repair a pinched nerve in his back in March when he tees off in the opening round at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Maryland, with fellow American Jordan Spieth and Australian Jason Day. (GOLF-PGA/, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 500 words)

- - - -


Cavaliers set to make first pick in NBA Draft

NEW YORK - The Cleveland Cavaliers head into the NBA Draft with the first overall pick and are expected to use it to select either Andrew Wiggins or Jabari Parker staged this year at Barclays Center in Brooklyn. (NBA-DRAFT/ (PIX), expect first copy by 2345 GMT/7:45 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- - - -


Brewers' Peralta looks to extend win streak

Right-hander Wily Peralta seeks his fifth consecutive win when he takes the mound for a Milwaukee Brewers team looking to pad their lead atop the National League Central when they host the Colorado Rockies in one of 10 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - - (London duty editor: Pritha Sarkar)

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $350K Baller [$50K to 1st] 22935/39773 $10 $350000 Today 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $40K Tournament [Single Entry] 6040/9091 $5 $40000 Today 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $25K Tournament [Single Entry] 1523/2841 $10 $25000 Today 1:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)