Watch highlights:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, April 3

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Mercedes drivers gear up for Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix

MANAMA - Mercedes team mates Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton meet the media ahead of a Bahrain Grand Prix they look likely to dominate on Sunday. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 450 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

La Liga

Atletico, Real face tough tests; Barca host lowly Betis

MADRID - Leaders Atletico Madrid host seventh-placed Villarreal and Real Madrid, in third, play at sixth-placed Real Sociedad in two of their toughest remaining games, while second-placed champions Barcelona are at home to bottom side Real Betis. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Premier League

Old boy Carroll out to dent Liverpool title hopes

LONDON - Former Liverpool striker Andy Carroll can dent his former club's Premier League title chances and virtually seal West Ham United's top-flight status for next season when the teams meet at Upton Park on Sunday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PREVIEW), moved, 400 words)

- -

EUROPA LEAGUE

Quarter-final first legs

AZ Alkmaar v Benfica (1905)

Basel v Valencia (1905)

Porto v Sevilla (1905)

Olympique Lyon v Juventus (1905)

Juventus face tough Lyon trip in Europa League

LONDON - Serie A leaders Juventus face a tough first leg at French side Lyon as they bid to reach the semi-finals of Europe's second-tier club competition. (SOCCER-EUROPA/, expect by 2130 GMT/5:30 PM ET, 500 words)

- -

BASEBALL

Kinsler RBI single helps Tigers edge Royals in 10 innings

Ian Kinsler, whose fourth-inning home run gave Detroit their first run of the game, laced an RBI single to left center with two out in the bottom of the 10th to give the Tigers the victory. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

NBA

Knicks beat city rivals Nets to help playoff drive

The New York Knicks routed city rivals Brooklyn 110-81 to move a step closer to a postseason berth on Wednesday, a day after the Nets had celebrated clinching a playoff berth of their own. (NBA-KNICKS/, moved, by Larry Fine, 550 words)

- - - -

NHL

Red Wings rally to overcome red-hot Bruins

Detroit's Tomas Jurco and Gustav Nyquist scored twice in a 1:42 span in the third period, and goaltender Jimmy Howard made 33 saves, to give the Red Wings a come-from-behind win over the Boston Bruins. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), moved, by The Sports Xchange, 475 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

WTA: Family Circle Cup (to 6)

Venus boosts Williams family pride with dogged win

Venus Williams, battling a mystery bug and a dogged opponent who refused to lie down, advanced to the third round of the Family Circle Cup in Charleston. (TENNIS-WTA/, moved, 350 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

World Twenty20 in Bangladesh (to 6)

First semi-final: Sri Lanka v West Indies, Mirpur (1300)

Familiar conditions give West Indies edge over Sri Lanka

MIRPUR - Having played all their group matches in Mirpur, holders West Indies will have a clear advantage in the first semi-final against Sri Lanka who qualified in Chittagong and will have to quickly adapt to the conditions at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. (CRICKET-WORLD/T20 (PIX), expect by 1730 GMT/1:30 pm ET, by Amlan Chakraborty, 450 words) (Asia duty editor: John O'Brien)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)