Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday, September 8

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Abe helps secure 2020 Games for Tokyo

BUENOS AIRES - Tokyo was awarded the 2020 Olympic Games on Saturday, beating Istanbul in a head-to-head vote after Prime Minister Shinzo Abe delivered a charismatic plea to the IOC, saying Japan's crippled nuclear plant was 'under control'. (OLYMPICS-2020/WINNER, (UPDATE 4, PIX), moved, by Ossian Shine, 600 words)

- -

Three sports vie for place in Tokyo

BUENOS AIRES - The International Olympic Committee will select one sport from a shortlist that includes wrestling, baseball/softball and squash to be in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. (OLYMPICS/SPORTS (PIX, TV), expect by 1630, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Italian Formula One Grand Prix

Vettel wins in Monza

MONZA, Italy - Red Bull's world champion Sebastian Vettel eased to his sixth win in 12 races. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, moved, 600 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

U.S. Open

Williams and Azarenka are good friends and final rivals

NEW YORK - Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka, good friends off the court but fierce rivals on it, will be in full battle mode for the women's singles final. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect by 2330 GMT/19:30 PM ET, by Larry Fine, Simon Evans and Will Swanton, 800 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

World Cup, Africa qualifiers

Kenya v Namibia (1300)

Zimbabwe v Mozambique (1300)

Cameroon v Libya (1430)

Benin v Rwanda (1500)

Togo v Democratic Republic of Congo (1530)

Sudan v Lesotho (1700)

Cameroon host Libya in crunch match

CAPE TOWN - The last group winner will be decided when Cameroon host Libya in Yaounde as both countries chase a place in the final phase of African qualifiers. (SOCCER-WORLD/AFRICA (WRAPUP 1), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

We will also have individual match reports on merit

- -

Italy and Germany set to finish qualifying job

LONDON - No World Cup finals would be complete without Italy and Germany on the cast list and both nations will take their places in next year's Brazil showpiece with victories on Tuesday. (SOCCER-WORLD/, (PREVIEW), moved, by Martyn Herman, 600 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Napoli feasts on Yankees pitchers in latest Red Sox win

Mike Napoli homered twice while Jonny Gomes homered and drove in four runs, leading the Boston Red Sox to a 13-9 victory over the New York Yankees at Yankee Stadium. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 500 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain

Nibali takes race lead into Stage 15

PEYRAGUDES, France - Italian Vincenzo Nibali is the overall leader going into Stage 15 which runs from Andorra to the summit finish of Peyragudes. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/1:15 PM ET, by Alasdair Fotheringham, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

European Tour: European Masters, Switzerland

Lee looks for maiden tour win

Unheralded Briton Craig Lee goes in search of his first tour victory when he starts the final round at Crans-sur-Sierre with a two-stroke lead. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

England v Australia, second one-day international

Teams hoping for better weather at Old Trafford

MANCHESTER, England - England face Australia at Old Trafford after the first one-day international in Leeds on Friday was rained off. (CRICKET-AUSTRALIA/, expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by Sonia Oxley, 500 words)

- - - -

NFL

Marquee matchups light up Week One action

The Green Bay Packers take on the San Francisco 49ers and the New Orleans Saints meet the Atlanta Falcons as the National Football League kicks off a new season. (NFL/, (WRAPUP 1, PIX) expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

- - -

Giants meet Cowboys as NFC East race begins

The New York Giants visit the Dallas Cowboys in an early showdown of NFC East contenders to cap the opening day of the 2013 season. (NFL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

BASKETBALL

European Championship, Slovenia (to 22)

Copy on merit

- - - -

ATHLETICS

Rieti Grand Prix, Italy

Copy on merit

(London duty editor: Ed Osmond)

View Comments (0)