Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday, September 15

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League

West Ham travel to Southampton

Southampton host West Ham United in the only game of the day in the English top flight. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Martyn Herman, 300 words)

- -

La Liga

Europa League pair Betis and Valencia meet in Seville

MADRID - Europa League rivals Real Betis and Valencia, who have begun their La Liga campaigns in indifferent style, clash in Seville and Malaga host Rayo Vallecano. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX)expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 400 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Bottom club Braunschweig take on Nuremberg

BERLIN - Eintracht Braunschweig look to climb off the foot of the table when they entertain third from bottom Nuremberg while Borussia Moenchengladbach travel to Hoffenheim in the day's other game. (SOCCER-GERMANY/, expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 350 words)

- -

Serie A

Extra incentive for Fiorentina

ROME - Fiorentina, who have a 100 percent record from their opening two games of the season, can join Napoli at the top of the table by winning at home to Cagliari. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 1230 GMT/8:30 AM ET, by Terry Daley, 400 words)

- -

African Champions League

Al Ahli v Zamalek (1300)

Sewe Sport v Coton Sport (1500)

Semi-final places up for grabs

CAPE TOWN - The battle for semi-final places intensifies in the penultimate weekend of the group phase. (SOCCER-AFRICA/CHAMPIONS, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 300 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Lester leads Red Sox past Yankees

Jon Lester pitched eight brilliant innings and the Boston Red Sox continued their September surge with a 5-1 victory over the New York Yankees at Fenway Park on Saturday. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 300 words)

- - - -

NHL

Small town launches big year for NHL

STIRLING, Ontario - With the 2014 Sochi Olympics, the return of the Winter Classic and a new Outdoor Series it is going to be a season of grand events as the NHL attempts to make up for last year's lockout-shortened season. (NHL-BIGYEAR/, moved, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: BMW Championship

Furyk holds off Woods and Snedeker

LAKE FOREST, Illinois - Jim Furyk, co-leader overnight with Brandt Snedeker, withstood strong runs from Tiger Woods and Steve Stricker to move one stroke in front after Saturday's third round of the BMW Championship. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 450 words)

- -

European Tour: Dutch Open

Luiten eyes home win at Zandvoort

Dutchman Joost Luiten takes a one-shot lead over Spain's Miguel Angel Jimenez into the final round at Zandvoort. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

- -

LPGA Tour: Evian Championship

Miyazato in front in women's major

Japan's Mika Miyazato will go into the final round of the fifth and final women's major of the year holding a one-stroke lead at Evian-les-Bains in France. (GOLF-WOMEN/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

RUGBY

Pumas come close but need pro presence back home

SYDNEY - Argentina missed put on their first Rugby Championship victory by two points against Australia on Saturday but, everybody agrees, long-term prospects for the Pumas require some form of professional rugby to take root in South America. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ARGENTINA, moved, 500 words)

- -

Australia secure first win for McKenzie

SYDNEY - In the end it was neither flair nor extravagant running rugby that earned Ewen McKenzie his first win as Wallabies coach on Saturday but rather stout defence, tactical kicking and sheer bloody-mindedness. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/AUSTRALIA, moved, 500 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

Davis Cup semi-finals

Djokovic needs to inspire Serbia fightback

BELGRADE - Serbia, with world number one Novak Djokovic in their ranks, trail Canada 2-1 going into the reverse singles on the final day. (TENNIS-DAVIS/SERBIA (PIX), expect by 1615 GMT/12:15 PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 400 words)

- -

Czech champions 3-0 up on Argentina

PRAGUE - Champions Czech Republic, who hold an unbeatable 3-0 lead, take on Argentina in the reverse singles. (TENNIS-DAVIS/CZECH (PIX), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, 300 words)

- -

Davis Cup World Group playoff

Victory already assured for Spain

MADRID - Spain hold an unassailable 3-0 lead over Ukraine in their Davis Cup World Group playoff and are already certain of a place back among the elite next season. (TENNIS-DAVIS/SPAIN (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 500 words)

- -

Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada

Erakovic and Safarova to meet in final

Marina Erakovic and Lucie Safarova won semi-final matches on Saturday to advance to the singles final of the Bell Challenge in Quebec City. (TENNIS-QUEBEC/, moved, 300 words)

- -

ATP: Bell Challenge, Quebec City, Canada

WTA: Tashkent Open, Uzbekistan

Results only

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain

Horner set for victory

MADRID, Spain - The 21st and final stage starts in Leganes and finishes in Madrid after a flat, largely ceremonial, 109.6-km ride. American Chris Horner is the overall leader and barring a last-minute calamity should win the race. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by Alasdair Fotheringham, 400 words)

- - - -

MOTORCYCLING

MotoGP: San Marino, Misano

Championship leader Marquez on pole

Honda's MotoGP championship leader Marc Marquez will be on pole position at the Misano Marco Simoncelli circuit. (MOTORCYCLING-PRIX/, (PIX), expect by 1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

RALLYING

Ogier on brink of taking Loeb's world crown

Sebastien Ogier's wait to replace former team mate Sebastien Loeb as world rally champion will go on for another three weeks despite his victory at the Rally of Australia on Sunday. (RALLYING-AUSTRALIA/, moved, 400 words)

- - - - (Asia duty editor: Peter Rutherford)

View Comments (0)