Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday, Aug 25

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday:

- - - -

TENNIS

U.S Open (to Sept. 8)

Former champions in action as U.S. Open gets underway

NEW YORK - Former champions Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova and Venus Williams are among those in action on a busy opening day of the years final grand slam, the U.S. Open, in New York. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (PIX), expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 500 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League

Manchester City v Liverpool (1900)

Man City renew battle with last season's rivals Liverpool

MANCHESTER - Last season's champions Manchester City and runners-up Liverpool are both looking to build on their winning Premier League starts when they meet at the Etihad stadium on Monday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX) expect by 2045 GMT/ 4.45 PM ET, 600 words)

- -

La Liga

Real Madrid v Cordoba (1800)

Rayo Vallecano v Atletico Madrid (2000)

Campions Atletico aim for winning start against Rayo

Atletico, who picked up their first silverware of the season in the Spanish Super Cup against Real Madrid, have reinforced well over the summer and take on local rivals Rayo. Real face newly promoted Cordoba. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Tim Hanlon, 400 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

England v India, Bristol, first ODI

Woeful India look for one-day redemption

India will be keen to live up to their status as reigning 50-over world champions when they look to make amends following the dismal 3-1 hammering they suffered in the test series against England. (CRICKET-INDIA/ expect by 1700 GMT/3 PM ET, 300 words)

- -

Zimbabwe v Australia, Harare, ODI triangular series

Australia begin World Cup preparations

Australia will begin preparations for the World Cup that they will co-host next year when they face Zimbabwe in their opening match of the tri-series that also involvs South Africa. (CRICKET-AUSTRALIA/, expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, 400 words)

- -

West Indies v Bangladesh, Basseterre, third ODI

Copy on merit

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain (to Sept 14)

Valverde has overall lead heading into third stage

Spain's Alejandro Valverde will be aiming to retain the leader's red jersey following the 188km hilly third stage from Cadiz to Arcos de la Frontera. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words) (Asia duty editor: John O'Brien)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)