Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Saturday, September 21

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Saturday:

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Tour Championship, Atlanta (to 22)

Stenson streaks clear at East Lake

ATLANTA - In-form Swede Henrik Stenson piled up four birdies in his first nine holes and then held steady after the turn to forge four shots clear after the second round of the season-ending Tour Championship. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 500 words)

- -

European Tour: Italian Open, Turin (to 22)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Scherzer eyes MLB-leading 20th win

Max Scherzer of the Detroit Tigers will get his fifth opportunity to become the first major league pitcher to reach 20 wins this season when he takes the mound against the visiting Chicago White Sox in one of 15 games on the schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League (1400 unless stated)

Norwich City v Aston Villa (1145)

Liverpool v Southampton

Newcastle United v Hull City

West Bromwich Albion v Sunderland

West Ham United v Everton

Chelsea v Fulham (1630)

Southampton next up for leaders Liverpool

LONDON - Early-season pacesetters Liverpool host Southampton while Jose Mourinho's Chelsea will be desperate to end a run of three straight defeats in three different competitions when neighbours Fulham visit Stamford Bridge. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 1345 GMT/9:45 AM ET, by Toby Davis, 500 words)

- -

La Liga

Real Valladolid v Atletico Madrid (2000)

Almeria v Levante (1600)

Real Sociedad v Malaga (1400)

Rayo Vallecano v Barcelona (1800)

Atletico and Barca aim to continue perfect starts

MADRID - Atletico Madrid and Barcelona look to maintain their 100 percent starts to the season at Real Valladolid and Rayo Vallecano respectively. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 1615 GMT/12:15 PM ET, by Mark Elkington, 500 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Nuremberg v Borussia Dortmund (1330)

Mainz v Bayer Leverkusen (1330)

Hamburg SV v Werder Bremen (1330)

Hanover 96 v Augsburg (1330)

VfL Wolfsburg v Hoffenheim (1330)

Schalke 04 v Bayern Munich (1630)

Away trips for Dortmund and Bayern

BERLIN - Leaders Borussia Dortmund travel to third from bottom Nuremberg while second-placed Bayern Munich visit Schalke 04 who occupy ninth place. (SOCCER-GERMANY/, expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 500 words)

- -

Serie A

Cagliari v Sampdoria (1600)

Chievo Verona v Udinese (1600)

Genoa v Livorno (1845)

Top of the table incentive for Livorno

ROME - Promoted Livorno, who have won two of their first three games, can go joint top by winning at Genoa while Sampdoria will be looking for their first league victory of the season at Cagliari. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2030 GMT/16:30 AM ET, by Terry Daley, 300 words)

- -

Ligue 1 (1800 unless stated)

Bastia v Olympique Marseille (1500)

Evian Thonon Gaillard FC v Montpellier HSC

Stade de Reims v En Avant Guingamp

Stade Rennes v Ajaccio

Sochaux v Lille

Copy on merit

- -

Dutch Championship (1745 unless stated)

Heracles Almelo v Twente Enschede (1645)

Groningen v RKC Waalwijk

ADO Den Haag v NEC Nijmegen

Roda JC Kerkrade v Heerenveen (1845)

Copy on merit

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Formula One Singapore Grand Prix (22)

Vettel poised to secure pole position

SINGAPORE - Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel will be confident of strengthening his grip on the drivers' championship in qualifying for Sunday's race after the German dominated Friday practice at the Marina Bay Street Circuit. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), qualifying starts at 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by John O'Brien and Patrick Johnston, 500 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: St Petersburg Open, Russia (to 22)

Metz Open, France (to 22)

WTA: Guangzhou International, China (to 21)

Korea Open, Seoul (to 22)

Copy on merit

- - - - (Duty editor: Ian Ransom; Asia Sports Desk; +61466151684)

View Comments (0)