Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday, Aug 8

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Championship (to 10)

Westwood, Chappell and Palmer in command at Valhalla

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky - English former world number one Lee Westwood and Americans Kevin Chappell and Ryan Palmer will take a joint one-shot lead into Friday's second round at Valhalla Golf Club after opening with six-under-par 65s in the year's final major. British Open champion Rory McIlroy, the pre-tournament favourite who is bidding for a third consecutive victory on the PGA Tour, fired a 66. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect first story by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 650 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League

United ready for Van Gaal lift off but dangers lurk

On paper it appears a match made in heaven. Serial winner Louis van Gaal at the helm of 20-times English champions Manchester United with a mission to steer the chastened giants back to the Premier League summit. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/PREVIEW (PIX), moved, by Martyn Herman, 950 words)

- -

Reuters published our English Premier League preview package (at 0200 GMT/10 PM ET) ahead of the new season, which starts on Aug. 16.

The package includes an overall preview, team-by-team prospects and separate team pieces on Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Everton and Tottenham Hotspur. We also ran a factbox on the top 10 transfers over the close season.

- -

Build-up to new European season continues

LONDON - We bring you the latest transfer news as the build- up to the new European soccer season continues. (SOCCER-COUNTRY/, expect throughout)

- - - -

TENNIS

Federer top man to beat at Rogers Cup

TORONTO - After a day of upsets second seed Swiss Roger Federer finds himself as the top remaining seed at the Rogers Cup and takes on Spaniard David Ferrer for a spot in the semi-finals while Milos Raonic carries Canadian hopes against another Spaniard Feliciano Lopez. (TENNIS-TORONTO/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 500 words)

- - - -

Williams sisters make joint bid for Rogers Cup semi-finals

World number one and defending champion Serena Williams takes on former-world number one Caroline Wozniacki for a semi-final spot at the Rogers Cup in Montreal. Williams' older sister Venus will try to join her in the last four when she goes against Spaniard Carla Suarez Navarro. TENNIS-MONTREAL/ (PIX), expect by 0300 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

CRICKET

England v India fourth test, Manchester (to 11)

India take early wickets as England edge ahead

MANCHESTER, England - India fought back to take three early wickets but England reached 201 for six to surpass their first innings score by 49 runs at lunch on the second day. (CRICKET-INDIA/, moved with updates to follow, 500 words)

- -

Sri Lanka v Pakistan, first test (to 10)

Sangakkara ton leads Sri Lanka's strong reply

GALLE, Sri Lanka - Kumar Sangakkara struck his 37th test hundred as he and his retiring team mate Mahela Jayawardene powered Sri Lanka to 252 for two wickets before rain washed out the final session on day three of the first test against Pakistan. (CRICKET-PAKISTAN/, moved, 400 words)

- - - -

SWIMMING

Phelps in action during Day Three at U.S. nationals

World record holder Michael Phelps will compete in the 100 metre butterfly during the third day of the U.S. National Championships in Irvine, California, which will serve as a qualifier for the Pan Pac Championships in Australia later this month. (SWIMMING-USA/, expect by 0415 GMT/12:15 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Orioles try to pad lead atop AL East division

The Baltimore Orioles will try to pull away from the pack in the American League East when they open a three-game set versus the visiting St. Louis Cardinals in one of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(London duty editor: Ed Osmond/Ken Ferris)

View Comments (0)