Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday, Aug 29

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

TENNIS

U.S. Open (to Sept. 8)

Federer, Sharapova highlight Day Five at U.S. Open

NEW YORK - Seventeen-times grand slam winner Roger Federer and French Open champion Maria Sharapova share the stage during Day Five of the U.S. Open at Flushing Meadows. (TENNIS-OPEN/ (TV, PIX), expect first lead by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Larry Fine and Steve Keating, 600 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

Bundesliga

Dortmund looking to bounce back at Augsburg

BERLIN - Last season's runners-up Borussia Dortmund will be looking to recover from a losing Bundesliga start and bounce back with a victory at Augsburg. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour: Deutsche Bank Championship (to Sept. 1)

McIlroy in hunt for fourth win of 2014

NORTON, Massachusetts - World number one Rory McIlroy launches his bid for a fourth PGA Tour victory of the season in Friday's opening round at the TPC Boston, venue for the second of the PGA Tour's four lucrative FedExCup playoff events. Swede Henrik Stenson defends the title he won by two shots last year. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, pix, 400 words)

- -

European Tour

Italian Open (to 31)

Molinari aims to gatecrash Ryder Cup party

Francesco Molinari, aiming to snatch a last-gasp Ryder Cup place in the final counting event before the team is finalised, goes into the second round in Turin sharing the lead with Austrian Bernd Wiesberger on six-under 66. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Ryder mismatch fears over McGinley all gone, says Price

Phillip Price feared a mismatch when Europe chose Paul McGinley as captain to take on U.S. counterpart Tom Watson in next month's Ryder Cup but the Welshman said his concerns have now been completely banished. (GOLF-RYDER/PRICE (INTERVIEW), moved, by Tony Jimenez, 650 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Tour of Spain (to Sept. 14)

Valverde leads Quintana heading into seventh stage

Spain's Alejandro Valverde has a 15-second lead over Nairo Quintana in the overall standings heading into the 169km seventh stage from Alhendín to Alcaudete, with Alberto Contador in third, 18 seconds back, and Chris Froome 22 adrift in fourth. (CYCLING-SPAIN/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

Gay World Cup crosses gain line with IRB support

SYDNEY - Bingham Cup organisers hailed the endorsement of the International Rugby Board (IRB) as an important breakthrough in inclusiveness in sport as the seventh version of the gay World Cup got underway on Friday. (RUGBY-BINGHAM/, (TV), moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 600 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Royals host Indians with eye on padding division lead

The Kansas City Royals will try to pull away from the pack in the American League Central division when they host the Cleveland Indians in one of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(London duty editor: Ed Osmond)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (0)