Players in the Indianapolis Colts Hall of Fame

Yahoo Contributor Network

Edgerrin James has recently been selected as the ninth recipient awarded the honor of induction into the Indianapolis Colts Hall of Fame. The ceremony will take place Sunday, September 23, 2012.

Here is the current list of the Indianapolis Colts Ring of Honor:

Robert Irsay: After buying the Los Angeles Rams in 1972, Irsay quickly traded the organization for the then Baltimore Colts. In 1984, Irsay moved the Colts from Baltimore to Indianapolis. The move was not taken well by the fans of Baltimore, but it was one that Irsay felt most beneficial for his franchise. Irsay passed away in 1997 leaving the Colts to his son Jim Irsay. Robert Irsay was the first person inducted into the Colts Ring of Honor in 1996.

Bill Brooks: Drafted in the fourth round by the Colts in the 1986 NFL draft, Brooks would become the Colts' most revered wide receiver for the next five seasons. Brooks was the very first player inducted into the Colts Ring of Honor in 1998. He is still working in the Colts organization in the front office.

Ted Marchibroda: After his NFL playing career, Marchibroda turned his interest to the coaching arena. He had two stints as head coach of the Colts. His first stretch was with the Baltimore Colts from 1975-1979. He came back to take control of the Colts of Indianapolis from 1992-1995. Ultimately, Marchibroda would see his name in the Colts Ring of Honor in 2000.

Chris Hinton: Drafted by the Colts in the first round in 1983, Hinton played seven seasons with the Colts as an offensive lineman. In his 13-season career, he made the Pro Bowl seven times. Hinton was inducted into the Colts Ring of Honor in 2001.

Jim Harbaugh: The current coach of the San Francisco 49ers once played quarterback for the Indianapolis Colts. His playing years with the Colts ran from 1994-1997. 1995 proved his most successful season, being named to the NFL Pro Bowl, as well as being awarded NFL Comeback Player of the Year and AFC Player of the Year. Harbaugh joined the Colts Ring of Honor in 2005.

Tony Dungy: Arguably considered the Colts' most successful head coach, Dungy transformed the team in Indianapolis to a consistent playoff-caliber team. From 2002-2008, Dungy was the head coach of the Colts. In those seven seasons, Dungy led the Colts to a Super Bowl victory (XLI). Dungy accepted induction into the Colts Ring of Honor in 2010.

Marvin Harrison: The first round pick out of Syracuse in 1996 proved be be a significant one. Harrison played his full 13-year career with the Colts. In his career he played in the Pro Bowl eight times and won a Super Bowl ring. He earned a spot on the NFL All-Decade Team of the 2000s. After achieving many NFL records, he retired in 2008. Harrison entered into the Colts Ring of Honor in 2011.


NFL Team History

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Baseball
View Comments