What's buzzing:

Peterson, Watt head All-Pro team

The SportsXchange

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson and Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt were unanimous selections for the Associated Press All-Pro team, which was announced Saturday.

A panel of 50 nationwide media members who cover the NFL selected the first and second teams.

Peterson rushed for 2,097 yards with 12 touchdowns and fell just 9 yards shy of breaking Eric Dickerson's single-season rushing record. He was selected to the All-Pro team for the third time.

Watt, one of 17 first-time selections, had 20.5 sacks in the regular season with 81 tackles.

Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning was chosen to his sixth All-Pro team. Denver went 13-3 and got the No. 1 seed in the AFC playoffs. Manning threw for 4,659 yards with 37 touchdowns and 11 interceptions.

Atlanta Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez also made it for a sixth time after catching 93 passes for 930 yards with eight touchdowns. He is second all-time with 1,242 receptions.

The San Francisco 49ers had the most All-Pro selections with six, led by linebacker Patrick Willis, who was selected for the fifth time in his six-year career. Linebackers NaVorro Bowman and Aldon Smith, offensive guard Mike Iupati, safety Dashon Goldson and punter Andy Lee were the other 49ers selected.

The Seattle Seahawks had five selections and the Broncos had three. No other team had more than two.

Minnesota Vikings kicker Blair Walsh was the only rookie chosen.

The NFC had 17 players while the AFC had 10.

Awards for Most Valuable Player, Coach of the Year, Comeback Player, Defensive Rookie, Offensive Rookie, Defensive Player and Offensive Player will be announced before the Super Bowl.



WR: Calvin Johnson (Detroit Lions); Brandon Marshall (Chicago Bears).

TE: Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons).

OT: Duane Brown (Houston Texans); Ryan Clady (Denver Broncos).

OG: Jahri Evans (New Orleans Saints); Mike Iupati (San Francisco 49ers).

C: Max Unger (Seattle Seahawks).

QB: Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos).

RB: Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings), unanimous; Marshawn Lynch (Seahawks).

FB: Vonta Leach (Baltimore Ravens).

K: Blair Walsh (Vikings).

KR: Jacoby Jones (Ravens).


DE: J.J. Watt, (Texans) unanimous; Cameron Wake (Miami Dolphins).

DT: Geno Atkins (Cincinnati Bengals); Vince Wilfork (New England Patriots).

OLB: Von Miller (Broncos); Aldon Smith (49ers).

ILB: Patrick Willis (49ers); NaVorro Bowman (49ers).

CB: Richard Sherman (Seahawks); Charles Tillman (Bears).

S: Earl Thomas (Seahawks); Dashon Goldson (49ers).

P: Andy Lee (49ers).



WR: A.J. Green (Bengals); Andre Johnson (Texans).

TE: Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys).

OT: Joe Thomas (Cleveland Browns); Joe Staley (49ers).

OG: Marshal Yanda (Ravens); Logan Mankins (Patriots).

C: Maurkice Pouncey (Pittsburgh Steelers).

QB: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers).

RB: Alfred Morris (Washington Redskins); Jamaal Charles (Kansas City Chiefs).

FB: Jerome Felton (Vikings).

K: Phil Dawson (Browns).

KR: David Wilson (New York Giants).


DE: Justin Smith (49ers); Julius Peppers (Bears).

DT: Justin Smith (49ers); Ndamukong Suh (Lions); Haloti Ngata (Ravens).

OLB: Chad Greenway (Vikings); Ahmad Brooks (49ers); Clay Matthews, (Packers); and DeMarcus Ware (Cowboys).

ILB: Daryl Washington (Arizona Cardinals); London Fletcher (Redskins).

CB: Champ Bailey (Broncos); Tim Jennings (Bears).

S: Eric Weddle (San Diego Chargers); Jairus Byrd (Buffalo Bills).

P: Thomas Morstead (Saints).
Daily Fantasy
View Comments (7)