Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Notre Dame's Te'o wins Camp player of year award

The SportsXchange

Linebacker Walter Manti Te'o, whose defensive play helped to spur Notre Dame to a 12-0 season, was selected as the winner of the Walter Camp national player of the year award Thursday night in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Te'o also won the Bednarik defensive player of the year in the annual college football awards event at Walt Disney World.

He took the award ahead of finalists Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, who are also finalists for the Heisman Trophy that will be awarded Saturday night. He was the fourth Notre Dame player to win the award and only the third defensive play to receive it.

The Camp honor is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision coaches and sports information directors.

Te'o, who made 103 tackles for Notre Dame, already has won the Butkus Award, the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Lombardi Award since the end of the regular season.

In other awards:

* Manziel won the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, becoming the first freshman to win the honor.

* USC wide receiver Marqise Lee won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver, becoming the fifth sophomore to win it.

* Mississippi State's Johnthan Banks won the Jim Thorpe Award as the top defensive back, giving the SEC the award for the fourth consecutive year.

* And Tulane's Cairo Santos won the Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicker Award, giving Tulane the award for the second time.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $350K Baller [$50K to 1st] 13596/39773 $10 $350000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $40K Tournament [Single Entry] 2863/9091 $5 $40000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NBA $6K Tournament [$600 to 1st] 330/6818 $1 $6000 Tomorrow 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (2)