Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

NHL roundup: Lady Byng finalists announced

The SportsXchange

Florida Panthers defenseman Brian Campbell, Edmonton Oilers forward Jordan Eberle and New York Islanders forward Matt Moulson have been named finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy, which will be presented on June 20 at the NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas.

Voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, the award is given "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." The three finalists amassed just 22 penalty minutes between them during the 2011-12 regular season, with Moulson and Campbell drawing just three minor penalties apiece.

Campbell, 32, could become just the third defenseman ever to win the Lady Byng, and the first since Red Kelly in 1954. He was assessed just six penalty minutes despite playing in all 82 games for the Panthers. He scored four goals and handed out 49 assists, finishing second among defensemen in both points and assists to Ottawa's Erik Karlsson. The Panthers won the Southeast Division and hold a 3-2 lead in their Eastern Conference quarterfinal series against the New Jersey Devils.

Moulson, 28, surpassed the 30-goal mark for the third consecutive season, scoring 36 goals and assisting on 33 more for the Islanders. His six penalty minutes are down from 24 during the 2010-11 season.

Eberle's 20 penalty minutes are down from 22 in his rookie season. He scored 34 goals and recorded 42 assists in 78 games for the Oilers.

Tampa Bay forward Martin St. Louis, who won the two previous trophies, was not among this year's finalists. He was assessed 16 penalty minutes in 77 minutes in 2011-12.

---The St. Louis Blues have enjoyed a breakout season and a return to prominence in the Western Conference because of their stifling defense. Now, one of the chief cogs in that defense could win the Selke Trophy, which goes to the NHL's best defensive forward.

Blues forward David Backes joined Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron and Detroit Red Wings forward Pavel Datsyuk as finalists for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, the NHL announced on Monday. The winner, selected by a vote of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, will be announced on June 20 at the 2012 NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas.

--As a third-round pick in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft, New Jersey Devils center Adam Henrique didn't enter the 2011-12 NHL season with the same pedigree as Ryan Nugent-Hopkins or Gabriel Landeskog, who were the top two picks in last year's draft by the Edmonton Oilers and Colorado Avalanche, respectively.

After a full season, that doesn't seem to matter.

Henrique, Landeskog and Nugent-Hopkins were announced Monday as the three finalists for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie. The winner, selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, will be announced in June at the NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas.

---As the Ottawa Senators look to finish off an upset of the New York Rangers and advance to the second round of the 2012 Stanley Cup Playoffs, their captain is coming back to lead them.

Ottawa right wing Daniel Alfredsson confirmed to reporters on Monday that he will play in the sixth game of the Eastern Conference quarterfinal series on Monday night at Scotiabank Place. He'll return to action at the same time as New York winger Carl Hagelin, who was suspended three games for the elbow that took Alfredsson out of action in the series' second game.

Alfredsson, 39, has one goal in this year's playoffs. He had 27 goals and 32 assists in 75 regular-season games.
Daily Fantasy
View Comments (2)