Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

NFL points out bad call in Chargers-Texans game

The SportsXchange

The NFL acknowledged an officiating mistake in Monday night's San Diego-Houston game that impacted the outcome.

Chargers defensvie tackle Cam Thomas was incorrectly whistled for unnecessary roughness after he contacted Texans long snapper Jon Weeks on a field goal attempt in the fourth quarter, NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino said Tuesday.

"No, this was not a correct call," Blandino said, according to NFL.com. "This is not the intent of the rule as it was written. The rule is to protect the snapper on a field goal or extra point from a direct forcible blow to the head or neck area, or with the crown/forehead/hairline parts of the helmet to the body. It was not designed to prohibit any contact with the snapper, which is what happened on this play."

Randy Bullock's 37-yard field goal was taken down and the Texans scored a touchdown on the next play when Matt Schaub threw a 9-yard pass to Owen Daniels. Instead of trailing 28-17, the Texans trimmed the Chargers' lead to 28-21 in a game they eventually won 31-28 with a field goal in the final seconds.

"It's a judgment call by the umpire, he's looking at that, and in his judgment, he felt that it was enough for a foul," Blandino said. "And in our review today, we felt that it was not."

The error was the third during the opening weekend by officials, according to Blandino. He said the crew erred twice in the San Francisco 49ers-Green Bay Packers game on Sunday, once on offsetting penalties that resulted in the wrong down and also on an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty against 49ers offensive lineman Joe Staley.
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (16)