Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

NBA OK with officials' call on Paul

The SportsXchange

The NBA said Sunday that an out-of-bounds call on Los Angeles Clippers point guard Chris Paul late during Saturday's playoff game against the Golden State Warriors at Staples Center was correctly made by the officials.

However, it also said that a foul should have been called on Warriors forward Draymond Green prior to the ball going out of bounds but was not reviewable.

Paul turned the ball over with 18.9 seconds remaining after being defended by Green. The NBA reviewed the play after the game and agreed with the officials' call that gave the Warriors the ball on the play.

"After reviewing postgame video, we have concluded that the instant replay review of the out-of-bounds call with 18.9 seconds remaining in the game involving the Clippers' Chris Paul and the Warriors' Draymond Green was administered correctly by the referees and the correct decision was made in awarding the ball to the Warriors," NBA president of basketball operations Rod Thorn said in a statement Sunday.

"Under the existing rule, referees may only use instant replay to determine which player caused the ball to go out and a limited set of other reviewable matters. Just prior to the ball going out-of-bounds, Paul was fouled by Green, and Paul should have been granted two free throws. Contact preceding out-of-bounds calls is not a reviewable matter."

The Warriors hung on to beat the Clippers 109-105.
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (3)