How the last 10 Masters champions have fared in next PGA Tour start

T.J. Auclair

Bubba Watson is making his first start on the PGA Tour since winning the Masters this week when he tees it up in the Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass.

Previously, Watson's best finish at the Players was a tie for 37th -- something he's done twice (2013 and 2009).

RELATED: Bubba Watson's caddie tries to qualify for Zurich Classic

While Watson's track record may not be the greatest at TPC Sawgrass, it's always interesting to see how the reigning Masters champ fares in his first on the PGA Tour after slipping into the green jacket.

Here's a look at the last 10 Masters winners and how that finished in their next PGA Tour start:

2013: Adam Scott, T19 in the Players Championship 2012: Bubba Watson, T18 in the Zurich Classic of New Orleans 2011: Charl Schwartzel, T26 in the Players Championship 2010: Phil Mickelson, Second at the Wells Fargo Championship 2009: Angel Cabrera, Missed Cut at Wells Fargo Championship 2008: Trevor Immelman, Missed Cut in the EDS Byron Nelson Championship 2007: Zach Johnson, Sixth in the RBC Heritage 2006: Phil Mickelson, T15 at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans 2005: Tiger Woods, T11 at the Wells Fargo Championship 2004: Phil Mickelson, T2 at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans

Of that list, Watson (2012) and Immelman are the only two reigning Masters champions who did not play in the Players Championship the same year they won the Masters.

Immelman withdrew from the tournament in 2008 citing illness, while Watson provided this commentary on Twitter in 2012 to explain his pass on the Players:

  • "I've decided to pull out of the Players. I need to spend more time with Caleb and Angie, plan to take at least a month off."
  • "The Players is one of the best weeks of the year but bonding with my son and wife is what it is all about right now."
  • "Sorry to disappoint fans but the Players has one of the best fields all year, tourney is more than fine without me."
    • NOTE: In 2007, the Players Championship moved from March to May.

Follow T.J. Auclair on Twitter, @tjauclair.