What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Jack Adams award finalists: Babcock, Cooper, Roy

AP - Sports
Jack Adams award finalists: Babcock, Cooper, Roy

View photo

Colorado Avalanche head coach Patrick Roy talks during a news conference following Game 7 of an NHL hockey first-round playoff series against the Minnesota Wild on Wednesday, April 30, 2014, in Denver. Minnesota beat Colorado 5-4 to win the series. (AP Photo/Jack Dempsey)

NEW YORK (AP) -- Mike Babcock of the Detroit Red Wings, Jon Cooper of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Patrick Roy of the Colorado Avalanche are finalists for the Jack Adams Award.

The NHL Broadcasters' Association voted for the top coach after the regular season. The winner is announced June 24 in Las Vegas.

Babcock led the Red Wings to a 93-point season and their 23rd consecutive playoff berth, the longest active streak in North American pro sports.

Cooper is in his first full season as a head coach. He guided the Lightning to second place in the Atlantic Division a year after they were 28th in the overall standings.

Roy, in his rookie season as an NHL coach, helped Colorado finish third in the overall standings after placing 29th overall the year before.

Daily Fantasy
View Comments (13)