Hornish wins Coors Light Pole in Nationwide

Related: Qualifying results " Weekend Schedule

Sam Hornish Jr. took the pole for the Zippo 200 in record-breaking fashion Saturday, speeding past the qualifying record set by Kurt Busch in 2011 with his best speed of 123.291 mph and a lap of 71.538 seconds. Kyle Busch took the second spot, with Joey Logano in third and the rest of the final group -- Regan Smith and Brad Keselowski -- rounding out the top five.

In the first group to qualify, Morgan Shepherd did not complete a lap. Jeff Green ran the fastest time at 76.106 seconds at 115.891 mph. Bryan Silas took the top spot when the second group took its qualifying laps, with a best lap of 76.055 seconds at 115.969 mph.

The third group entirely changed the top five, as Kyle Kelley's 119.308-mph lap at 73.926 seconds led Mike Bliss, Mike Wallace, Jeremy Clements and Reed Sorenson. Kenny Habul saw engine issues, causing him to qualify 10th after his group left the track and bringing track officials out to ensure oil had not been dropped on the track.

Kyle Larson, Brendan Gaughan, Cole Whitt, Travis Pastrana and Andrew Ranger rearranged the leaderboard again as part of the fourth group to qualify. Larson's lap of 120.916 mph in 72.943 seconds gave him the pole until the next group qualified.

Larson was the only driver able to hold on to a top-five position after the fifth group, which included points leader Austin Dillon, ran its qualifying laps. Nelson Piquet Jr. took the fastest speed in his group with a lap at 122.420 mph, with Elliott Sadler, Trevor Bayne and Dillon falling in line behind him.

Logano held the provisional pole after the sixth group, with Justin Allgaier second on the leaderboard and one group left to qualify.

The Zippo 200 begins at 2:15 p.m.ET on Saturday and will be aired on ABC.


WATCH: Tony Stewart
breaks right leg

WATCH: Preview Show:
Watkins Glen

WATCH: This week's
Fantasy Showdown

WATCH: What Drives
the 5?



Talk about this story with fans below and start a topic of your own in our fan forum.

View photo



? View all articles
? View all videos
? View all photos

Instantly join a new league.

League type:
Free Yahoo League
League size:
10 players
Draft time:
Aug 30 9:00 am
View Comments (5)