Hall of Fame ballot includes 10 veterans' candidates

The SportsXchange

Ten candidates have been nominated for the Baseball Hall of Fame by the pre-integration committee.

On the ballot are former players Marty Marion, Bucky Walters, Bill Dahlen, Wes Ferrell, Tony Mullane and Deacon White, former Cardinals owner Sam Breadon and former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, sporting goods executive Alfred Reach and umpire Hank O'Day.

Pre-integration committee candidates are required to have made their mark on the game betwen 1876 and 1946.

The veterans' committee will announce the the inductees on Dec. 3 at the winter meetings in Nashville, Tenn. Each must receive at least 75 percent in the balloting for election.

Enshrinement will take place July 28 in Cooperstown, N.Y., along with players elected by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Marion was an outstanding shortstop with the St. Louis Cardinals in the 1940s era. Walters pitched from 1934 to 1950 and posted a 198-160 record. Ferrell had a 193-128 career record and won 20 games in a season six times.

Dalheln was mostly a shortstop who played from 1881 through 1911. Mullane logged 284 wins from 1881 to 1894 while pitching 468 complete games. White, a barehanded catcher, played from 1871 to 1890.

Ruppert owned the Yankees from 1915 until 1940 during the glory days of Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig. Breadon, the Cardinals' longtime owner, was noted for hiring Branch Rickey and shaping the current minor-league system.
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (17)