Hall of Fame announces modern-era finalists

PFW staff
January 11, 2013
Hall of Fame announces modern-era finalists

First-year-eligible nominees Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp and Michael Strahan are among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013. 

The Hall’s Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, Feb. 2 in New Orleans and select between four and seven new members. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.

The two seniors committee nominees are Curley Culp and Dave Robinson.

Here are the 15 modern-era Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists:

  • OG-OT Larry Allen
  • RB Jerome Bettis
  • WR Tim Brown
  • WR Cris Carter
  • Owner Edward DeBartolo Jr.
  • LB-DE Kevin Greene
  • DE Charles Haley
  • Owner Art Modell
  • OT Jonathan Ogden
  • Coach Bill Parcells
  • WR Andre Reed
  • DT Warren Sapp
  • OG Will Shields
  • DE Michael Strahan
  • CB-S Aeneas Williams

S Steve Atwater, coach Don Coryell, RB Terrell Davis, WR Steve Tasker, commissioner Paul Tagliabue and S John Lynch are among the semifinalists that did not make it to the final round for this year’s Hall of Fame voting.