Who gets Lance Armstrong's Tour de France titles?

Yahoo Contributor Network

Lance Armstrong is famously known for winning the Tour de France seven consecutive times, becoming the winningest rider in the history of the Tour de France. Earlier this year news came out that the USADA was going to bring forth doping charges against Armstrong. Thursday morning, the USADA released a statement saying that Armstrong has decided to no longer fight these allegations, and stripped the cyclist's seven Tour de France victories while also banning him from the sport for life.

Now the question has to be asked, who would get his titles if this decision stands? Most of the second place finishers to Armstrong have their fair share of conspiracies and allegations as well.

Tour de France runners-up from 1999-2005:

1999: Alex Zulle - Zulle and his team were banned from the 1998 Tour de France due to doping allegations. Zulle admitted to using EPO ( Erythropoietin), but his 1999 finish has not been taken away.

2000, 2001, & 2003: Jan Ullrich - Ullrich was banned from the 2006 Tour amid doping speculations. Earlier in 2012, his 2005 third place title was stripped from him due to doping allegations.

2002: Joseba Beloki - In 2006, Beloki was linked to the Operación Puerto doping case; he was later cleared by Spanish officials.

2004: Andreas Kloden - There were doping allegations in 2009 against Kloden, claiming he used the Freiburg University Clinic for an illegal blood transfusion during the 2006 Tour de France . He was never convicted or punished.

2005: Ivan Basso - In 2007, Basso admitted plans for doping. He suffered a two-year suspension.

Should titles be stripped away from one man accused of doping to five new men who have each had their fair share of doping allegations?

As for the all-time win record, that will be split four ways. Before Armstrong broke the record, there was a four-way tie between Miguel Indurain, Bernard Hinault, Eddy Merckx, and Jacques Anquetil, each having five wins.

View Comments