Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Gold medalists head fleet in Star regatta

AP - Sports

NASSAU, Bahamas (AP) -- Olympic gold medalists Robert Scheidt of Brazil, Freddy Loof of Sweden and Mateusz Kusznierewicz of Poland are among the 18 skippers who will compete in the inaugural Star Sailors League Finals regatta Dec. 3-8.

Also scheduled to compete is Paul Cayard, a veteran of the America's Cup and round-the-world races who competed in the Star class in the 2004 Olympics.

A purse of $200,000 will be divided among the fleet. Awards will include Best Skipper of the Year. The best crew of the year will receive the first Simpson Memorial Trophy in memory of British Star sailor Andrew Simpson, who was killed May 9 in the capsize of Artemis Racing's catamaran during training for the America's Cup.

The Star Sailors League was established in January to provide an international regatta circuit to promote sailors and their skills.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $750K Baller 24672/85227 $10 $750000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $100K Tournament [$10K to 1st] 1766/4545 $25 $100000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $1 Single Entry 50/50 [Top 2,500 Win] 1350/5000 $1 $4500 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)