Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Field all but finalized for 2012 PLAYERS

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- With the start of THE PLAYERS 2012 less than a week away, the deadline has passed for players to qualify for the event via the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) or by moving inside the top 10 in this year'sFedExCup standings. Every player in the top 10 of the FedExCup standings through the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, led by Hunter Mahan, had already qualified for THE PLAYERS. A total of 11 players, not otherwise qualified, secured their position inside the top 50 in the OWGR and earned a spot in the field. The winner of this week's Wells Fargo Championship, if not otherwise qualified, will earn a last-minute ticket to THE PLAYERS Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass, May 7-13.

The 11 players who qualified today after securing their position inside the top 50 in the OWGR are: England's Lee Westwood (No. 3), who finished T4 at THE PLAYERS 2010; Sweden's Peter Hanson (No. 24), who posted a T11 finish last year in his first appearance at THE PLAYERS; Korea's Sang Moon Bae (No. 32), who will make his PLAYERS debut; Denmark's Thomas Bjorn (No. 33), who will be in THE PLAYERS field for the first time since 2006; England's Simon Dyson (No. 36); Spain's Alvaro Quiros (No. 38); Denmark's Anders Hansen (No. 41); Scotland's Paul Lawrie (No. 43); Italy's Francesco Molinari (No. 46); who finished 9th at THE PLAYERS 2010; England's Paul Casey (No. 48); who is battling back from a shoulder injury; and South Korea's K.T. Kim (No. 50), who was a member of the International Team at The Presidents Cup last November at Royal Melbourne Golf Club. Players on the outside looking in include Spain's Gonzalo Fdez-Castano (No. 53), Belgium's Nicolas Colsaerts (No. 54), Spain's Miguel Angel Jimenez (No. 56), and Japan's Ryo Ishikawa (No. 57).

The 148 players who are already qualified have until 5 p.m. ET this Friday, May 4, to commit to THE PLAYERS 2012 (full list at the end of this press release). The winner of the Wells Fargo Championship (April 30 -- May 6), if not already qualified, will be added to the field. Then, if needed to complete the field of 145 -- including Champions Tour player Fred Couples -- the highest-ranked players on the FedExCup points list as of today, in order of their position, will earn a trip to THE PLAYERS. The highest-ranked players in the FedExCup standings not otherwise qualified are Matt Every (No. 28), Bud Cauley (No. 39), Colt Knost (No. 50), Ken Duke (No. 55) and John Mallinger (No. 60).

NEW IN 2012:New location, fun for fans at Closing Ceremonies

When the final putt drops on Sunday evening at THE PLAYERS, there's still more for fans to experience as the tournament champion receives THE PLAYERS trophy at Closing Ceremonies.

This year, THE PLAYERS Closing Ceremonies will be held on the Lower Clubhouse Lawn, where THE PLAYERS Trophy will be on display all week, allowing fans to surround the stage and get closer than ever to the new champion (and 2011 champion K.J. Choi, who will award the trophy). Not only will the ceremony be televised live on Golf Channel -- giving fans the chance to be seen on TV -- but the 2012 winner will also sign a limited number of commemorative PLAYERS pin flags to distribute to some of the lucky fans in attendance.

And finally, the 2012 winner will make one lucky mom's Mother's Day wish come true when he draws the winning ticket for THE PLAYERS Mother's Day Car Giveaway at the end of Closing Ceremonies. Mothers, 18 and older, can register all week in the Stadium Village (where the Toyota Camry Hybrid will be on display), but they must be present for the drawing during Closing Ceremonies to win.

COMMUNITY UPDATE:PTWA hosts Community PedsCare -- These Kids Can Hula!

On Wednesday, May 9, the PGA TOUR Wives Association and THE PLAYERS will host children and families from Community PedsCare and Wolfson Children's Hospital for a fun-filled, Hawaiian-themed morning at the Stadium Village (9:30-11 a.m.). Activities include arts and crafts, a luau show, face painting as well as a visit from zoo animals courtesy of the Jacksonville Zoo. Jim Furyk's wife, Tabitha Furyk, is the chairperson of this event for the PGA TOUR Wives Association, and many other TOUR players and their spouses will be in attendance to interact with the kids.

Each of the children in attendance will be given a hand-made quilt donated by Quilts for Kids.

This is the fifth year the PTWA has hosted an event for the children and their families at Stadium Village and approximately 50 families are expected to attend. The PGA TOUR Wives Association was incorporated in 1988 by wives of professional golfers on the PGA TOUR. Since inception, the Association has raised more than $5 million through its charitable events and volunteer service projects.

PLAYERS field as of April 29
Adams, BlakeFrazar, HarrisonLaird, MartinRomero, Andres
Allenby, RobertFuryk, JimLawrie, PaulRose, Justin
Atwal, ArjunGainey, TommyLeishman, MarcSabbatini, Rory
Baddeley, AaronGarcia, SergioLeonard, JustinSchwartzel, Charl
Bae, Sang-MoonGarrigus, RobertLevin, SpencerScott, Adam
Baird, BrinyGay, BrianLove III, DavisSenden, John
Barnes, RickyGillis, TomMahan, HunterSimpson, Webb
Bettencourt, MattGlover, LucasMarino, SteveSingh, Vijay
Bjorn, ThomasGoosen, RetiefMathis, DavidSlocum, Heath
Blanks, KrisGoydos, PaulMatteson, TroySnedeker, Brandt
Bradley, KeeganHaas, BillMayfair, BillyStadler, Kevin
Bradley, MichaelHaas, HunterMcDowell, GraemeStallings, Scott
Byrd, JonathanHansen, AndersMcIlroy, RoryStanley, Kyle
Cabrera, AngelHanson, PeterMcNeill, GeorgeSteele, Brendan
Campbell, ChadHarrington, PadraigMerrick, JohnStenson, Henrik
Casey, PaulHearn, DavidMickelson, PhilStreelman, Kevin
Chalmers, GregHenry, JJMolder, BryceStricker, Steve
Chappell, KevinHerron, TimMolinari, FrancescoStroud, Chris
Choi, KJHoffman, CharleyMoore, RyanTeater, Josh
Cink, StewartHolmes, JBNa, KevinThompson, Michael
Clark, TimHowell lll, CharlesOgilvie, JoeToms, David
Clarke, DarrenHuh, JohnOgilvy, GeoffTrahan, DJ
Couch, ChrisImada, RyujiO'Hair, SeanTringale, Cameron
Couples, FredImmelman, TrevorO'Hern, NickVan Pelt, Bo
Crane, BenJacobson, FredrikOosthuizen, LouisVegas, Jhonattan
Curtis, BenJobe, BrandtOverton, JeffVerplank, Scott
Davis, BrianJohnson, DustinPalmer, RyanVillegas, Camillo
Day, JasonJohnson, ZachPampling, RodWagner, Johnson
de Jonge, BrendonKang, SunghoonPerez, PatWalker, Jimmy
DiMarco, ChrisKarlsson, RobertPernice, Jr., TomWatney, Nick
Donald, LukeKaymer, MartinPettersson, CarlWatson, Bubba
Driscoll, JamesKelly, JerryPiercy, ScottWestwood, Lee
Dufner, JasonKilleen, JJPoints, DAWi, Charlie
Dyson, SimonKim, AnthonyPoulter, IanWilson, Mark
Els, ErnieKim, KTQuiros, AlvaroWoodland, Gary
Estes, BobKirk, ChrisReavie, ChezWoods, Tiger
Fowler, RickieKuchar, MattRollins, JohnYang, YE

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $350K Baller [$50K to 1st] 13403/39773 $10 $350000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NFL $40K Tournament [Single Entry] 2781/9091 $5 $40000 Sunday 1:00 PM Enter
NBA $6K Tournament [$600 to 1st] 272/6818 $1 $6000 Tomorrow 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)