What's buzzing:

Falcao, Neymar and Stoch head FIFA Puskas Award nominees

Falcao 'flying the flag' for Colombian football, says Valderrama

View photo

Falcao 'flying the flag' for Colombian football, says Valderrama
Atletico Madrid striker Radamel Falcao, Santos forward Neymar and Fenerbahce's Miroslav Stoch are the three nominees for the FIFA Puskas Award, given to the scorer of the best goal of 2012.

The Colombian has scored a host of goals this season, but he has been nominated for his acrobatic strike for Diego Simeone's side against America de Cali, when he scissor-volleyed off a corner kick to score in a club friendly in May.

Neymar, meanwhile, won the accolade last year and was nominated again for an effort against Internacional in March that saw him evade a string of challenges as he ran the length of the pitch to finish neatly. Finally, Stoch made the cut for an incredible 20-yard volley for the Istanbul outfit against Genclerbirligi eight months ago.

The award, named in honor of the legendary Hungary forward Ferenc Puskas, was established in 2009, and it was first won by Cristiano Ronaldo for his strike for Manchester United against Porto. Hamit Altintop was the next player to land the prize, before Neymar won last year.

Follow GOAL.COM on Twitter

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $5K Tournament [Single Entry] 5600/5681 $1 $5000 In 31 minutes Enter
NFL $15K Tournament [$2K to 1st] 3373/3410 $5 $15000 In 31 minutes Enter
NFL $5K Tournament [Single Entry] 2228/2841 $2 $5000 In 31 minutes Enter
View Comments (0)