Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Dixon takes IRL race at Lexington again

The SportsXchange

LEXINGTON, OHIO -- It was Scott Dixon, again, winning at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The dominant IndyCar driver of recent years at this classic road course won for the fourth time in six years, the second in succession.

Dixon's Ganassi Racing crew put him in front of Team Penske's Will Power on their final pit stop, and Dixon did the rest.

His margin of victory was 3.4 seconds before a large crowd.

Dixon also won in 2007, 2009 and 2011. He finished third here in 2008 and fifth in 2010.

Power, the pole sitter, finished second to take the series points lead as Ryan Hunter-Reay fought a sour engine in the second half of the race. He finished 24th. The other top title contender, Helio Castroneves, finished 16th. Power now leads by five points.

Three races remain in the season, the next one Aug. 26 at Sonoma (Calif.) Raceway.

The win gave Dixon two for the season and 29 for his IndyCar career, the latter tying Rick Mears for 10th place on the all-time list.

The race was the second in a row without a caution, something that hadn't happened in the sport since late in the 1987 season.

Simon Pagenaud finished third with Sebastien Bourdais fourth and James Hinchcliffe fifth.

Heavy rain covered the track in the morning, but it was dry during the race.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $100K Tournament [$10K to 1st] (Thu Only) 8333/11364 $10 $100000 Today 12:30 PM Enter
NFL $10K Tournament [Single Entry] (Thu Only) 4069/5682 $2 $10000 Today 12:30 PM Enter
NFL $5K Tournament [Single Entry] 3628/5681 $1 $5000 Today 12:30 PM Enter
View Comments (0)