What's buzzing:

David Fay, Laura Davies win GWAA honors


Former USGA executive director David Fay, LPGA star Laura Davies and three-time National Blind Golf Championship winner David Meador have been honored with three of the top awards given by the Golf Writers Association of America.

View photo

Fay (left), who guided the U.S. Golf Association for 21 years and was the driving force behind bringing the U.S. Open to two of the nation's top public courses, was honored with the William D. Richardson Award, given annually to recognize individuals who have consistently made an outstanding contribution to golf.

Meador, who lost his sight in a car accident at age 18, won the Ben Hogan Award for remaining active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness. Davies, one of the most outspoken, fun-loving and entertaining players in women's golf, was honored with the ASAPSports/Jim Murray Award, which recognizes a golfer for cooperation, quotability and accommodation with the media.

Related: Check out David Fay's columns for Golf Digest

They will be honored, along with GWAA Players of the Year Rory McIlroy, Stacy Lewis and Roger Chapman at the Annual GWAA Awards Dinner, April 10 in Augusta, Ga.

(Photo by Getty Images)

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
EPL $20K Nobody Loses 3183/10000 $1 $20000 Today 10:00 AM Enter
NHL $1.3K Tournament [$125 to 1st] 402/1478 $1 $1300 Today 7:00 PM Enter
NHL $1.5K Tournament [$150 to 1st] 90/341 $5 $1500 Today 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (0)