NBA free-agency tracker:

Dallas Cowboys Team Profile

Yahoo Contributor Network

The Dallas Cowboys, AKA America's Team, is a love them or hate them type of team. Whether you are a long time fan or long time hater, I have researched the 2012 Dallas Cowboys Media Guide to give you this team profile.

Team Name - Dallas Cowboys

Founded - The team was founded in January of 1960 by the Clint Murchison and Bedford Wyne. Their first game was September 24th against the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Owner - The current owner of the Dallas Cowboys is Jerry Jones who purchased the team in 1988.

Team Venue and City - The Cowboys currently play home games at Cowboys Stadium. Although they are still known as the Dallas Cowboys, the stadium is in Arlington, TX.

Venue Capacity - The only official information from the Cowboys organization is that Cowboys Stadium holds over 100,000 people. During the opening game against the New York Giants on September 20, 2009, the Cowboys set an NFL attendance record at 105,121.

Previous Venues - Prior to building Cowboys Stadium, the Cowboys played home games at the Cotton Bowl from 1960 until 1971 and moved to Texas Stadium in 1971 and called that home until 2008.

Division - The Dallas Cowboys play in the National Football Conference and are one of the four teams that make up the NFC East. The New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, and the Washington Redskins are the other three teams in the division. According to some experts the NFC East is one of the toughest divisions in the NFL today.

All Time Record - The Cowboys host an all time record of 448 wins 332 losses and 6 Ties. (448-332-6)

Playoff Record - The Cowboys have played an astonishing 58 games in playoffs and hold a record of 33 wins and 25 losses.

Conference Championship Record - The Cowboys have made 17 appearances in the NFC Conference Championship. They have 8 wins and 9 losses during these games

Super Bowl Record - One of the most successful teams in the NFL, the Cowboys have 5 wins and 3 losses in the Super Bowl.

V (1971 Colts 16, Cowboys 13)

VI (1972 Cowboys 24, Dolphins 3)

X (1976 Steelers 21, Cowboys 17)

XII (1978 Cowboys, 27, Broncos 10),

XIII (1979 Steelers 35, Cowboys 31)

XXXVII (1993 Cowboys 52, Bills 17)

XXVIII (1994 Cowboys 30, Bills 12)

XXX (1996 Cowboys 27, Steelers 17)

Players In The Hall Of Fame - 17 players a coach and an administrator have been inducted in the NFL Hall of Fame with ties to the Dallas Cowboys. They are:

Forrest Gregg '77

Lance Alworth '78

Herb Adderley '80

Bob Lilly '80

Roger Staubach '85

Mike Ditka '88

Tom Landry '90 (coach)

Tex Schramm '91 (administrator)

Jackie Smith '94

Randy White '94

Tony Dorsett '94

Mel Renfro '96

Tommy McDonald '98

Troy Aikman '06

Rayfield Wright '06

Michael Irvin '07

Bob Hayes '09

Emmit Smith '10

Deion Sanders '11

Winningest Coach (all-time): Tom Landry is a NFL legend with 250 wins and leads all Cowboys coaches in wins.

Team Color - The Cowboys colors are silver and blue

Mascot - The official Cowboys Mascot is Rowdy

Fun Fact - Did you know that from 1966 to 1985, the Cowboys completed 20 consecutive winning seasons, an NFL record.

All-time Passing leader (Ratings min. 1500 attempts): Tony Romo (2003 -2011) 96.9

All-time Rushing leader (Yards): Emmit Smith (1990 - 2002) 17,162 yards

All-time Receiving leader (Yards): Michael Irvin (1988 -1999) 11,904 yards

All-Scoring Leader Emmit Smith (1990 - 2002) 986 points

Derryl WIlliams is a Dallas Native and Cowboys fan from birth. He has cheered his Cowboys, win or lose, for 36 years and is anxiously awaiting the next Cowboys Super Bowl victory.

View Comments