Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Creighton's McDermott leads All-Big East team

AP - Sports
Creighton's McDermott leads All-Big East team

View photo

Creighton's Doug McDermott (3) and teammate Jahenns Manigat (12) signal three after McDermott scored his 3000th career point in the second half on an NCAA college basketball game in Omaha, Neb., Saturday, March 8, 2014. Doug McDermott scored a career-high 45 points and became the eighth player in Division I history to go over 3,000 for a career, and No. 13 Creighton rolled to an 88-73 victory over Providence. (AP Photo/Nati Harnik)

NEW YORK (AP) -- Creighton's Doug McDermott, the eighth player in college basketball history to score more than 3,000 points, is among three unanimous selections for the All-Big East team.

Joining the two-time All-America as unanimous choices by the league's coaches Sunday are Providence guard Bryce Cotton and Xavier guard Semaj Christon.

The rest of the six-man first team are Markel Starks of Georgetown, D'Angelo Harrison of St. John's and James Bell of Villanova.

McDermott, who closed the regular season with a career-high 45 points Saturday against Providence, leads the nation is scoring with a 26.5 average. He is shooting 52.2 percent from the field and 44.7 percent from 3-point range and averages 7.2 rebounds.

Cotton, a senior, is second to McDermott in scoring in the conference with a 21.7 average and leads the league in minutes played at 40.1 per game. Christon, a sophomore, averages 17.0 points and 4.1 assists.

Starks, a senior, averages 17.1 points. Harrison, a junior, has a 17.6 scoring average. Bell, a senior, averages 14.9 points and 6.0 rebounds for the regular-season champions.

The six-man second team is D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera of Georgetown, Kellen Dunham of Butler, Fuquan Edwin of Seton Hall, Davante Gardner of Marquette, Kadeem Batts of Providence, and JayVaughn Pinkston of Villanova.

The six-man all-rookie team includes Billy Garrett Jr. and Tommy Hamilton IV of DePaul, Andrew Chrabascz of Butler, Deonte Burton of Marquette, Rysheed Jordan of St. John's, and Josh Hart of Villanova.

The player and coach of the year will be announced Wednesday, the opening day of the conference tournament.

View Comments (2)