Score Strip

  1. League: NCAAF
  2. Texas A&M vs. South Carolina
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (18) TAMU
    (4) S CAR
  3. Temple vs. Vanderbilt
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (24) VAND
  4. Weber St. vs. Arizona St.
    Aug 28ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    (20) AZ ST
  5. UCF vs. Penn St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 7:00 AM
    (10) UCF
  6. Elon vs. Duke
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (23) DUKE
  7. UCLA vs. Virginia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (16) UCLA
  8. Alabama vs. West Virginia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (7) ALA
    W VA
  9. Jacksonville St. vs. Michigan St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    JV ST
    (3) MI ST
  10. Clemson vs. Georgia
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (8) CLEM
  11. Ohio St. vs. Navy
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 12:00 PM
    (12) OH ST
  12. S. Dakota St. vs. Missouri
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    SDK ST
    (5) MIZZ
  13. Louisiana Tech vs. Oklahoma
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (6) OKLA
  14. Florida St. vs. Oklahoma St.
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (1) FL ST
    (17) OK ST
  15. Arkansas vs. Auburn
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (2) AUB
  16. Wisconsin vs. LSU
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 1:00 PM
    (22) WIS
    (14) LSU
  17. South Dakota vs. Oregon
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    S DAK
    (9) ORE
  18. Fresno St. vs. USC
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    (19) USC
  19. UC Davis vs. Stanford
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:00 PM
    (11) STAN
  20. Rice vs. Notre Dame
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 3:30 PM
    (21) ND
  21. Washington vs. Hawaii
    Aug 30ᵗʰ 8:00 PM
    (25) WASH
  22. SMU vs. Baylor
    Aug 31ˢᵗ 1:00 PM
    (13) BAYL
  23. Miami (FL) vs. Louisville
    Sep 1ˢᵗ 8:00 PM
    MIA F
    (15) LOU
  24. View All

Collge playoff name revealed

The SportsXchange

The new name of a four-team college football playoff, which begins after the 2014 regular season, is simply College Football Playoff.

This is the final year of the Bowl Championship Series, and league commissioners desired an easy name for the new playoff.

The announcement was made at a news conference on Tuesday at the Langham Huntington Hotel in Pasadena, Calif., during BCS meetings .

The name was submitted last week to the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

"We decided to call the playoff what it is -- the College Football Playoff. We think the new playoff will be the most dynamic improvement to college football in a generation," executive director Bill Hancock said. "Certainly it's what the fans want."

A new logo will be selected from four finalists that are displayed at, where fans can vote for their favorite design during the next six days. The winning logo will be announced on Monday.

"We also invite everyone to vote online to select the logo and help us kick off the new College Football Playoff," Hancock said. reported that Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will play host to the first national championship game on Jan. 12, 2015, beating out Tampa, Fla. A formal announcement on the site is planned for Thursday.

It previously was determined that the Rose and Sugar bowls will be the sites for the first semifinal games in 2015 pitting the No. 1 vs. the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 against the No. 3. The Orange Bowl will get one of the semifinal games in 2016.

The BCS commissioners, who are meeting this week, also will decide on the bowls that will comprise the semifinal rotation. According to ESPN, the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls are in the running with the Rose, Sugar and Orange to be part of the new playoff..

The commissioners also are expected Thursday discuss the makeup of the 14- to 20-person committee that will select the four playoff teams annually.
View Comments