Chris Faulk, Alex Hurst, Bennie Logan Named to 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List: Fan's Take

Yahoo Contributor Network

LSU offensive tackles Chris Faulk and Alex Hurst and defensive tackle Bennie Logan were named to the 2012 Outland Trophy watch list.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the top interior lineman in college football by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). A total of 71 players were named to the watch list, including 19 from the SEC, which leads the country. LSU has one previous winner of the Outland Trophy (Glenn Dorsey, 2007). The FWAA All-America Committee will choose three finalists on Nov. 19 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 6.

Faulk is a junior left tackle who will be a starter for his second consecutive season. Last year, Faulk had a knockdown block on 9.6% of his total snaps. Hurst is a senior right tackle who has already started for two seasons on the offensive line. He was a first-team All-SEC selection in 2011 who had knockdown blocks on 8.8% of his snaps. Logan is a junior defensive tackle who will be entering his second season as a starter. Last season, Logan made 57 tackles (6.5 for loss), three sacks and forced a fumble.

Faulk and Hurst provide great blocking for the Tigers, especially run blocking. Between the two of them, they recorded a knockdown block on 9.2% of their snaps last season. On the other side of the ball, Logan is a very solid run stopper. I'm looking for him to have more games like he did against Mississippi State last season when he was named SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week for five tackles (three for loss) and a sack.

LSU fans might be asking where is center P.J. Lonergan, who made the 2012 Rimington watch list, on this list? Alabama leads the SEC with four selections and their center Barrett Jones, who is the reigning Outland Trophy winner, definitely had a guaranteed spot. I'm okay with that selection but, how about South Carolina's T.J. Johnson? Is he more deserving than Lonergan? Johnson was also on the Rimington watch list for best center. The SEC coaches also had Johnson on the All-SEC preseason team while Lonergan did not make the cut. Johnson may be the easy choice to make right now but as Lonergan is healthy I think things may look different by the end of the 2012 college football season.

As an LSU fan, I'd love to see one of these guys follow in Glenn Dorsey's footsteps and win the Outland Trophy.

More from Patrick Johnston:

Tyrann Mathieu, Barkevious Mingo, Sam Montgomery, Eric Reid on 2012 Nagurski Watch List

Drew Alleman, Brad Wing make 2012 Lou Groza, Ray Guy watch lists

LSU's Chase Clement, P.J. Lonergan make Mackey, Rimington watch lists


Outland Trophy Watch List, FWAA

Stats from LSU

View Comments