Canadian Championship Preview: Vancouver Whitecaps - Montreal Impact

Rudi Schuller
May 28, 2013
MLS Preview: D.C. United - Vancouver Whitecaps



Vancouver Whitecaps (4-3-3): Knighton; Lee, Rusin, Leveron, Harvey; Koffie, Reo-Coker, Davidson; Camilo, Mattocks, Teibert

Montreal Impact (4-4-2): Bush; Brovsky, Nesta, Ferrari, Camara; Romero, Bernier, Felipe, Mapp; Wenger, Di Vaio.



  • For the first time since 2009, there will be a new Canadian champion. Toronto FC has won the previous four editions of this tournament.

  • The Impact have lifted the Voyageurs Cup seven times, although only once (2008) was during the Canadian Championship era. Montreal was a second-division side that season, and managed to progress all the way to the CONCACAF Champions League quarterfinal stage.

  • Vancouver has never won the Voyageurs Cup in the trophy's 11-year history.

  • Montreal can win the championship in regulation time with a victory or with any draw other than 0-0 because of the away-goal tiebreaker. Vancouver needs to win outright. The clubs played to a 0-0 draw at Stade Saputo in the first leg.

  • If regulation time ends with the score at 0-0, the teams will play 30 minutes of extra time. If there is still no winner, a penalty shootout will occur.