Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Cabrera, Goldschmidt win Hank Aaron Award

The SportsXchange

For the second consecutive year, Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera is the American League's recipient of the Hank Aaron Award.

Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt received the honor for the National League.

The winners were chosen by a fan vote in conjunction with a vote of Hall of Fame hitters Aaron, Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

"It is a privilege to have the award that recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League named after me," Aaron said in a statement released by Major League Baseball. "I want to congratulate Miguel and Paul on their outstanding seasons and extend my thanks to the Hall of Famers and fans who selected the winners."

Cabrera, who won the Triple Crown in 2012, finished in the top two in the AL in most major offensive categories again in 2013. He batted .348 to win the AL batting crown for the third year in a row. He also came in second in home runs (44), RBIs (137) and total bases (353), and he tied for second in runs (103) and hits (193).

Goldschmidt tied for the NL lead with 36 home runs and led the league with 125 RBIs, a .551 slugging percentage, 75 extra-base hits and 332 total bases. He also came through in big moments, collecting major league highs with 37 go-ahead RBIs, 20 go-ahead homers, three walk-off homes and seven homers after the eighth inning.

Win cash prizes, pick a fantasy roster for just one day, join in minutes!

Learn how to play

Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
NFL $100K Tournament [$10K to 1st] (Thu Only) 3770/11364 $10 $100000 Tomorrow 12:30 PM Enter
NBA $20K Tournament [$2K to 1st] 559/4545 $5 $20000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
NBA $10K Tournament [$1K to 1st] 49/454 $25 $10000 Today 7:00 PM Enter
View Comments (5)