Brad Guzan is certain Luis Suarez dived to win a penalty for Liverpool, revealing the striker admitted he was unsure if the Aston Villa goalkeeper made contact.
The struggling Villans had charged into a two-goal lead over the high-flying Reds, only for Daniel Sturridge and the Uruguayan to level matters - the latter from 12 yards after he appeared to be felled by Guzan.
Guzan is convinced he pulled his arms away in time, only for Suarez to tumble, and claims the striker hinted that he dived to win the spot kick as Liverpool salvaged a point.
"I was pretty confident in myself that I hadn't touched him, so I said to him, 'Did I touch you?' He said, 'I don't know.' That's the honest truth of it," he told reporters. "Sometimes they go for you and sometimes they don't. Unfortunately, for us it didn't. I thought at the time that I'd pulled my hands back and, having seen it again on TV, I don't think I made contact with him. Whether the referee saw that I'm not sure, I don't know where his position was, but from my point of view it was a soft penalty.
"I think Suarez was probably a bit surprised as well to see it given. But these decisions happen, and you have to get on with it and go again."