Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Blackhawks' Quenneville leads coach of year finalists

The SportsXchange

Three finalists are vying for the Jack Adams Award, the NHL's version of the coach of the year award.

Bruce Boudreau of the Anaheim Ducks, Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators and Joel Quenneville of the Chicago Blackhawks were named finalists based on balloting by the NHL Broadcasters' Association, who voted at the end of the regular season. The winner is announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final.

Quenneville's Blackhawks won the Presidents' Trophy, boosted by a record start to the season by earning a point in each of their first 24 games (21-0-3), smashing the NHL's longest previous season-opening streak of 16 games set by the Anaheim Ducks in 2006-07. The club went on to a 36-7-5 record for 77 points. The Blackhawks ranked first overall in team defense (2.02 goals-against per game), second in offense (3.10 goals per game) and third in penalty killing (87.2 percent). Quenneville won the award in 1999-2000 with St. Louis in his previous appearance as a finalist.

Boudreau led the Ducks to the Pacific Division title and No. 2 seed in the Western Conference with a club-record points percentage (.688, 30-12-6) in his first full season as their head coach. Boudreau won the Adams Award in 2007-08 with Washington in his first appearance as a finalist.

MacLean, a 2012 finalist for the award who is in his second year with Ottawa, guided the Senators (25-17-6) to the postseason with a youthful lineup necessitated by a persistent rash of injuries. The roster shuffling included a league-high 14 rookies making an appearance. Still, Ottawa had the top defensive record in the Eastern Conference (2.08 goals-against per game).
Daily Fantasy
View Comments (2)