What's buzzing:

AHL: Ricochet goal in Finals should not have counted

The SportsXchange

The American Hockey League announced Friday that an unexpected overtime goal that bounced off the boards Thursday night during Game 3 of the Calder Cup Finals should not have counted.

However, that doesn't changed the outcome of the game, which the Norfolk Admirals won 1-0 in overtime over the Toronto Marlies.

AHL president David Andrews, whose organization is the top minor-league for the NHL, said in a statement that the overtime goal should have been waved off because it was on a delayed offside call.

"On the play, a dump-in from center ice by a Norfolk player caromed off a stanchion and into the Toronto net," Andrews said. "The correct application of AHL Rule 83.4 would have negated the Norfolk goal due to a delayed offside call.

"As AHL By-Laws do not allow for any change to the final result of a game based on an incorrect rule interpretation, the result of the game stands."

Norfolk leads the best-of-seven series 3-0 with Game 4 at 3 p.m. ET Saturday at Toronto.
Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football
View Comments (0)