The 25 Best Players in Oklahoma Sooners Football History

Yahoo Contributor Network

The Oklahoma Sooners are ranked the No. 1 college football program in the modern era, with seven national championships and 43 conference titles to the university's credit. During that time, five players won the Heisman Trophy, 64 players won national awards, and the Sooners put 153 first-team All-Americans on the field.

Here are the top 25 players in Oklahoma Sooner football history:

1: Lee Roy Selmon, DT (1972-1975): One of the most dominant defensive lineman to ever play college football, with OU winning two straight national championships in 1974 and 1975.

2: Brian Bosworth, LB (1984-1986): The heart and soul of the dominating national championship defense that defeated Penn State in the 1985 Orange Bowl. The "Boz" is the only player in NCAA history to win two Butkus Awards.

3: Billy Sims, RB (1975-1979): Heisman Trophy winner and the all-time rushing leader in OU history with 4,118 yards.

4: Adrian Peterson, RB (2004-2006): Rushed for 1,900 yards his freshman year, finishing second on the Heisman Trophy ballot.

5: Roy Williams, S (1999-2001): Won the Nagurski Trophy for nation's best defensive player and the Jim Thorpe Award, and was a driving force on the 2000 national championship team. Texas fans will never forget this moment.

6: Keith Jackson, TE (1984-1987): Named OU Offensive Player of the Century, he was the total package at tight end and a key player on the 1985 national championship team.

7: Tony Casillas, DT (1982-1985): Lombardi Award winner and in the College Football Hall of Fame, he was the anchor of the defense that won the 1985 national championship.

8: Steve Owens, RB (1967-1969): This Heisman Trophy winner is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

9: Sam Bradford, QB (2007-2009): Heisman Trophy winner only played two full seasons because of injury, but owns nearly every passing record in OU history.

10: Jason White, QB (1999-2004): Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback who supercharged the Sooners passing attack and shattered records.

11: Joe Washington, RB (1972-1975): Led the rushing attack for the Sooners during their back-to-back national championships in 1974 and 1975.

12: Tommie Harris, DT (2001-2003): Lombardi Award winner who stifled opposing offenses.

13: Rocky Calmus, LB (1998-2001): Butkus Award winner who was a tough as nails leader on the 2000 National Championship team's defense.

14: Jamelle Holieway, QB (1985-1988): Led the Sooners to the 1985 national championship victory, throwing this bomb.

15: Billy Vessels, RB (1950-1952): Heisman Trophy running back led the team to the 1950 national championship.

16: Ryan Broyles, WR (2008-2011): Ranks second in NCAA history with 4,586 career receiving yards and holds 10 OU receiving records.

17: Tommy McDonald, RB (1954-1956): Member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

18: Ricky Dixon, DB (1984-1987): The first Sooner to win the Jim Thorpe Award.

19: Gregg Pruitt, RB (1970-1972): Rushed for 1,760 yards his junior year.

20: Joe Bowden, LB (1988-1991): One of the most dominating linebackers in OU history.

21: Josh Heupel, QB (1999-2000): Led the team to the 2000 national championship.

22: Spencer Tillman, RB (1982-1986): Nebraska fans will never forget this.

23: Jamaal Brown, OL (2001-2004): Outland Trophy winner protected Jason White.

24: Danté Jones, LB (1983-1987): Dominating linebacker for 1985 national champions.

25: Aubrey Beavers, LB (1990-1993): Beast of a linebacker -- watch this.

S. Holmes Bishop is an Oklahoma Sooners fan since childhood, anxiously anticipating another OU National Championship.

View Comments