The top NBA Slam Dunk Contest champions

One of the most exciting parts of the National Basketball Association (NBA) All-Star Weekend each year is All-Star Saturday Night, a skills competition where the best players in the NBA get to show off for fans, teammates, and competitors. The highlight of the evening: The Sprite Slam Dunk Competition, which features players defying gravity to perform the perfect slam dunk. Part of the All-Star competition since 1984, only one player has won the contest three times, with four others claiming the title twice.

Nate Robinson - as a New York Knick, Robinson was the winner of three of the last five Slam Dunk Competitions (2006, 2009, and 2010), and finished second in 2007. His biggest competition came in 2006, when he went to a tie breaker against Andre Iguodala(notes) of Philadelphia. In 2006 and 2009, Robinson jumped over another player on his way to the Slam Dunk title. Today, Robinson is a member of the Boston Celtics.

Michael Jordan - in his days with the Chicago Bulls, Jordan took two straight Slam Dunk championships: 1987 and 1988. Jordan competed in three Slam Dunk competitions, being beaten handily in 1985 by Dominique Wilkins of Atlanta. Jordan defeated Jerome Kersey and Wilkins in 1987 and 1988, respectively, on his way to becoming "the greatest basketball player of all time."

Dominique Wilkins - Jordan's main nemesis in the Slam Dunk contest, Wilkins also won two titles (1985 and 1990). As a member of the Atlanta Hawks, he competed in five total Slam Dunk contests (also 1984, 1986, and 1988), tied for the most appearances in the competition with Clyde Drexler, whom he often competed against. Wilkins was well-known for his dunking prowess, earning the nickname "The Human Highlight Film" in his biography.

Harold Miner - Miner won two Slam Dunk titles as a member of the Miami Heat (1993 and 1995), defeating Clarence Weatherspoon of Philadelphia and Isaiah Rider, respectively. In spite of his ability to dunk, his career was rather unremarkable, as his career lasted only four seasons (1992 to 1996) before he retired.

Jason Richardson - as a member of the Golden State Warriors, Richardson won two straight Slam Dunk titles in 2002 and 2003, while finishing second in 2004. Today, he is a member of the Orlando Magic.

*Note: This article was written by a Yahoo! contributor. Sign up here to start publishing your own sports content.

Paula Thompson is a member of the Yahoo! Contributor Network.
Updated Thursday, Feb 3, 2011