NASCAR Preview

Last Updated Sunday, Feb 20, 2005 3:59 pm, EST

Race Capsule

Daytona International Speedway
  • What:

    Race 1 of 36 on Nationwide circuit

  • Where:

    Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL

  • When:

    February 15, 2003 1:00 pm EST

  • Laps:


  • Track Length:

    2.5 miles

  • Race Length:

    300.00 miles

  • Purse:


Drivers to Watch

Kevin Harvick A good performance in last year's big race here, finishing fourth after starting 31st; only win and pole came in the same race and it was a prestigious one, at the Brickyard 400; also was runner-up in six of his 11 top-five finishes of the year; earned just under $5 million and was fifth in the final points standings.
Matt Kenseth Just one victory recorded last year, but was a model of consistency all season long and produced his first NASCAR championship; won at Las Vegas, finished fourth the following week at Atlanta and took over the series points standings lead for the balance of the season - 33 consecutive races; clinched the title in the penultimate race at Rockingham; posted a series-leading 25 top-10 finishes and had only two DNFs; one of the non-finishes came in the season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway due to engine problems early.
Michael Waltrip Captured his second Daytona 500 in the last three years; but this one came when the event was halted after 109 laps and more than two hours of rain delays; also won the EA Sports 500 at Talladega in September as DEI once again was dominant in restrictor-plate races; was in the top 10 in points for a long stretch before fading to a 15th finish; this will be his 19th season on the circuit, with best points finish a 12th twice.
Brian Vickers The 19-year-old won the 2003 Busch Series title and was signed by Rick Hendrick Motorsports to drive in the Nextel Cup; will be one of four drivers at the Hendrick team; won the Busch championship by 14 points over David Green; had three victories (Indianapolis, Darlington, Dover), one pole, 13 top-fives (including two runners-up) and 21 top-10s; also earned over $1.1 million; World Karting Association national champion from 1994-97.