OK, the headline and photo might be misleading. The San Diego Padres didn't really experience a three-baserunner pileup at first base Friday night, and Minnesota Twins outfielder Ben Revere(notes) didn't really make a great catch — so said umpire Bob Davidson.
Although video replays conclusively showed that Revere's head-first diving attempt in short center on Chris Denorfia's(notes) fly ball was a success, Davidson the umpire called it a "no catch," which led to some confusion at first base.
Revere (who thought he had made the catch all along) alertly sent the ball to the infield anyway, and Michael Cuddyer(notes) — after some hesitation — tagged former Attorney General Alberto Gonzalez(notes) for a force out. Denorfia was safe.
But who's the third Padres guy on first base? That's at least two fathers too many. It's actually coach Dave Roberts on the right, getting in Gonzalez's ear (figuratively). It appeared that Roberts had told Denorfia to go back to the dugout, before Gonzalez quickly gave conflicting orders to get on the bag. If Denorfia had stayed off the bag, would the Twins have been able to turn a double play? Aw, heck, now I'm confused.
Is that a clip-on belt? No, but they just don't make 'em like they used to. Ben, you can't play with that hanging out.
Hey, while Revere tends to his waist accessory replacement, let's double-check the play.
He really put a lot of stress on his belt, didn't he?
Hold your breath! And he apparently DID catch the ball, Mr. Umpire. At least we're able to watch replay to make sure. (Hint, hint.)