• Commissioner Corner Message Board

Dave 8 posts  |  Last Activity: Feb 18, 2015 8:47 PM Member since: May 27, 2011
SortNewest  |  Oldest  |  Highest Rated Expand all messages
  • Reply to

    Ryan O'Reilly or Jordan Staal?

    by Jeff B Sep 21, 2013 12:27 PM
    Dave Dave Sep 21, 2013 7:30 PM Flag

    o'reilly and i don't think it's even close. he may end up on the top line this year so 60-70 points should easily be attainable

  • Reply to

    Tiger should be disqualified

    by James G Apr 12, 2013 11:51 PM
    Dave Dave Apr 13, 2013 1:09 AM Flag

    I just saw Nantz and Faherty talking about it on the Masters highlights show. I'm no expert on the rules of golf but the two applicable rules that seem to best fit this situation are:
    26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard

    It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

    If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

    a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

    b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

    c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.
    =============================================================
    =============================================================
    20-7. Playing from Wrong Place
    a. General

    A player has played from a wrong place if he makes a stroke at his ball in play:

    (i) on a part of the course where the Rules do not permit a stroke to be made or a ball to be dropped or placed; or

    (ii) when the Rules require a dropped ball to be re-dropped or a moved ball to be replaced.

    Note: For a ball played from outside the teeing ground or from a wrong teeing ground – see Rule 11-4.

    b. Match Play
    If a player makes a stroke from a wrong place, he loses the hole.

    c. Stroke Play
    If a competitor makes a stroke from a wrong place, he incurs a penalty of two strokes under the applicable Rule. He must play out the hole with the ball played from the wrong place, without correcting his error, provided he has not committed a serious breach (see Note 1).

    If a competitor becomes aware that he has played from a wrong place and believes that he may have committed a serious breach, he must, before making a stroke on the next teeing ground, play out the hole with a second ball played in accordance with the Rules. If the hole being played is the last hole of the round, he must declare, before leaving the putting green, that he will play out the hole with a second ball played in accordance with the Rules.

    If the competitor has played a second ball, he must report the facts to the Committee before returning his score card; if he fails to do so, he is disqualified. The Committee must determine whether the competitor has committed a serious breach of the applicable Rule. If he has, the score with the second ball counts and the competitor must add two penalty strokes to his score with that ball. If the competitor has committed a serious breach and has failed to correct it as outlined above, he is disqualified.

    Note 1: A competitor is deemed to have committed a serious breach of the applicable Rule if the Committee considers he has gained a significant advantage as a result of playing from a wrong place.

    Note 2: If a competitor plays a second ball under Rule 20-7c and it is ruled not to count, strokes made with that ball and penalty strokes incurred solely by playing that ball are disregarded. If the second ball is ruled to count, the stroke made from the wrong place and any strokes subsequently taken with the original ball including penalty strokes incurred solely by playing that ball are disregarded.

    Note 3: If a player incurs a penalty for making a stroke from a wrong place, there is no additional penalty for:

    (a) substituting a ball when not permitted;

    (b) dropping a ball when the Rules require it to be placed, or placing a ball when the Rules require it to be dropped;

    (c) dropping a ball in an improper manner; or

    (d) a ball being put into play by a person not permitted to do so under the rules
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    In theory he did not follow the first rule since he dropped the ball in an incorrect spot. He could have hit the ball from the water, dropped a ball as near to his original shot location as possible or moved 30 yards or so to his left on the fairway so he is in line with the hole and where his ball went into the water and dropped in that location. However he took a couple steps back from his original location and dropped the ball there meaning it was an incorrect drop which leads to the second rule. By him dropping the ball at in incorrect location he should have been assessed a two stroke penalty and signed his scorecard with the extra two strokes. If someone had pointed it out immediately he could have dropped the provisional second ball and sorted it out with the rules committee later but that did not happen. He signed his scorecard and left the course with what should amount to an incorrect scorecard. Two ways (from a list at least 34 items long) to be disqualified from a tournament are:

    Playing from the wrong place and not subsequently correcting the error (Rule 20-7 – stroke play only).
    Signing an incomplete or incorrect score card (Rule 6-6).

    So on both accounts he could be disqualified. For completeness sake here is the wording on signing an incorrect scorecard.

    6-6. Scoring in Stroke Play
    a. Recording Scores

    After each hole the marker should check the score with the competitor and record it. On completion of the round the marker must sign the score card and hand it to the competitor. If more than one marker records the scores, each must sign for the part for which he is responsible.
    b. Signing and Returning Score Card

    After completion of the round, the competitor should check his score for each hole and settle any doubtful points with the Committee. He must ensure that the marker or markers have signed the score card, sign the score card himself and return it to the Committee as soon as possible.
    PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 6-6b:

    Disqualification.
    c. Alteration of Score Card

    No alteration may be made on a score card after the competitor has returned it to the Committee.
    d. Wrong Score for Hole

    The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands.

    Note 1: The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card – see Rule 33-5.

    Note 2: In four-ball stroke play, see also Rules 31-3 and 31-7a.

  • Reply to

    Huge Trade!

    by Kyle Oct 18, 2011 7:49 PM
    Dave Dave Oct 18, 2011 8:33 PM Flag

    then don't worry about it and move on. obviously you've got a hard on for johnson and only want to hear that it's a good trade for you. sure it would potentially work out in your favour but the safe bet is maclin to get steady points week after week.

    if you want to look at it another way the other person involved in the trade is improving his team more than you are improving yours. for him already owning johnson, maclin is a much better option to have on your team right now. so i guess it comes down to do you want to definitely make his team better or do you want to maybe make your team better?

  • Reply to

    Huge Trade!

    by Kyle Oct 18, 2011 7:49 PM
    Dave Dave Oct 18, 2011 8:08 PM Flag

    He's saying you lose and Maclin is a safer play.

    It'd be better for you if Johnson sits out an extra week or two and is fully healed when he returns so you'll have him down the stretch and for playoffs. Given the nature of the injury there's a good likelihood that he will be reinjured at some point or it will at least slow him down and hamper his game. Maclin seems to be getting mroe looks than D Jackson for Phillly right now so he's probably the better player between himself and A Johnson due to the injury issue.

  • Reply to

    Give up Best for Dez Bryant?

    by hotdogheartburn Oct 18, 2011 7:44 PM
    Dave Dave Oct 18, 2011 8:05 PM Flag

    Getting Bryant would give you options at WR if White can't stay healthy. McGahee may continue to get some carries with the new Tebow run based offense in Denver so as a bye week filler he's an ok play for now. Bryant seems to be Romo's favorite target right now and he has already had his bye which is good. I'd say take the trade

  • Reply to

    WTF happened with my team

    by Will The Thrill Oct 18, 2011 4:02 PM
    Dave Dave Oct 18, 2011 8:01 PM Flag

    not sure if the team is listed that way based on who you're starting this week or based on what you have done in the past but it would probably be best to have Gore in your WR/RB spot and bench Austin. I guess right now with A Johnson hurt you need Austin to start there but generally speaking if you have a healthy RB and a healthy WR the RB will get more points than the WR, if they're similar in talent anyawys. Obviously D Thomas hasn't panned out yet so you should probably sit him and start Austin if it were between those two. Hillis should be considered your third RB though with McCoy and Gore being must starts if healthy and not on a bye week

  • Reply to

    big trade!! who wins????

    by Dnasty Oct 18, 2011 6:59 PM
    Dave Dave Oct 18, 2011 7:56 PM Flag

    There's some variables to it. One side has Stafford (QB), Best (RB) and Bryant (WR) while the other has White (WR), Lloyd (WR) and Mendehall (RB). If Stafford was a backup qb on the one team or there's a decent QB on the team to replace him it's ok but if you have to start a shady QB with Stafford gone it's a bad trade. Best and Mendenhall can be a toss-up but maybe leaning towards Mendenhall if he's healthy. Bryant is emerging as Romo's favourite target and could end up with similar numbers to White if White can stay healthy. Lloyd could get some fantasy points in St Louis if Bradford can stay healty. If the team getting White/Lloyd needed some help at WR it's a good deal for him only if Stafford wasn't the best QB on that team

  • I understand the basic premise of the can't cut list but it can hinder more than help things if the list is not closely monitored. Greene was highly regarded pre-draft last year and was a bust. He was unfortunately highly regarded pre-draft this year and is again turning into a bust. There's no reason he should still be on the can't cut list so if you could drop him from the list sooner than later I'm sure many managers out there would be thankful.

Expert Fantasy Advice

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football