• General Message Board

  • GreenSteel GreenSteel Oct 11, 2012 4:58 PM Flag

    Pole Winners Shootout 2013

    *sponsor of the 2013 Shootout at Daytona currently unknown. But currently we have some big names not eligible for the 2013 Shootout at Daytona. For the race next year, former Shootout winners and 2012 pole winners are eligible. Brad Keselowski, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, Menard, Burton, and McMurray are all in the top 20 in points right now but are not eligible for the Shootout at Daytona since they haven't won it before or won a pole so far.

    It'll be interesting to see if any of these guys win a pole before the year is out and which of these guys miss the official, but unofficial start of the season next year.

    SortNewest  |  Oldest  |  Most Replied Expand all replies
    • Funny how we had the Busch/Bud/Budweiser Pole Award and the same-named Shootout for Pole winners for so many years, then for whatever reason Coors takes over the Pole Award but declines to sponsor the Shootout, so Budweiser keeps that deal and changes the criteria and no one is happy because it's not the Pole winners like it always was; now we finally get it back to being the Pole winners and you guys are wringing your hands because the criteria might exclude certain drivers who would have made it under the revised criteria that everyone complained about :-p

      • 1 Reply to Cliff
      • i actually like this format a lot better. at least we know (hopefully) what the format is year to year. smaller budget teams have a greater chance of making it in. the Shootout race the past few years has almost felt like another All-Star race. which isn't bad, but guys like Almirola, Allmendinger, and Montoya are in the Shootout, which'll give a boost to those non-powerhouse teams.

    • So potentially the 2012 NASCAR champion might not make the Shootout. WOW


Expert Fantasy Advice

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Football