• Commissioner Corner Message Board

  • Mike Mccarthy Mike Mccarthy Jul 7, 2012 4:14 PM Flag

    Relief Loss

    Is a blown save also a relief loss (RL)? as well as, a regular loss?

    SortNewest  |  Oldest  |  Most Replied Expand all replies
    • A blown save isn't necessarily a relief loss. If a reliever comes in and the go ahead run is already on base, if that runner comes in, the run gets charged to the pitcher who is responsible for him and would then get charged with the loss. The pitcher that allows the run in gets charged with a blown save. You can get both, though.

      As for the regular loss, I'm assuming that would be where the starting pitcher gets the loss, and not a reliever. So it would only be charged to a starter and never to a reliever.

 

Expert Fantasy Advice