He didn't agree to turn it over, he merely said that the rule that the tiebreaker was based on is messed up. He wants to be in the championship just as much as I wanted to. In the broncos chargers game Shanahan gave the chargers a chance to win the game knowing that the call was blown (by going for two). Most coaches are under the philosophy that you play for the tie at home (which the broncos were), and win on the road, the only explanation for what Shanahan did is that he was giving the chargers a chance to redeem themselves, and they failed. Therefore he sleeps a little easier with win #2 under his belt, he did what he could to make it right.