What's buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Busted Racquet

David Ferrer pushes linesman during his quarterfinal loss, could face $20,000 fine

Shane Bacon
Busted Racquet

View photo

.

David Ferrer — Getty Images

It wasn't the best of days for David Ferrer on Tuesday at the Australian Open, with the No. 3 seed losing to Tomas Berdych in four sets and possibly landing a fine after making contact with one of the linesman on Rod Laver Arena.

Ferrer, who would have been the favorite to make the finals out of his side after Novak Djokovic was later upset by Stanislas Wawrinka, not only made contact with a linesman while he was attempting to put his towel down, but it was a little more than just a friendly brush aside for the 31-year-old Spaniard.

If you check the rulebook for Grand Slams you'll see that "unauthorized touching" is prohibited and it sure looks like Ferrer did enough there to at least land himself a fine that could reach $20,000.

After his loss Ferrer said "it was nothing," but it still is just enough to possibly land him a fine after the subtle shove of the official.

Personally, I think Ferrer will land a small fine because he obviously makes contact with the linesman and it sure didn't look like he was playfully moving the guy out of the way. These rules are in place to keep officials safe on the court, and while it doesn't look like a ton when you first see it, the line has to be drawn and a fine seems inevitable for Ferrer after this small shove.

View Comments (117)