Flamengo beat Vasco da Gama 2-1 with the winner coming just before full time, but Vasco fans will have very good reason to protest the result. Early in the match, with the score still 0-0, Vasco had a free kick in dangerous territory. Douglas' shot went off the crossbar and clearly landed inside Flamengo's goal as the keeper did nothing to stop it.
Bafflingly, it was not ruled a goal and play continued as the ball bounced back out into play. The part that will make your brain leak out of your ear though, is the fact that the assistant referee could not have had a better view of the goal line if he was the ball itself. Look at this!
Vasco eventually got their 1-0 lead with a goal that was actually counted in the 36th minute, but the officials' costly error will surely be the subject of debate and action in the coming days.
Thank Zlatan there will be goal-line technology at the World Cup.
- - - - - - -